Is this job hard?

What a week.  I was talking to a friend tonight about my job, and the tough week, and all the things I have to do.

She said we should get together for a coffee after work, or a lunch to chat and catch up.  I realized I couldn’t do lunch because I am hosting a celebration lunch Wednesday for a project team of 50 who completed their implementation and I am hosting a team lunch on Friday for a group of 20 because I fired their boss and they needed some support.

I am also hosting a celebration event Thursday at 3pm for a team of 300 who worked on a large IT program for 2 years and completed their work in September and the client has now closed down the “after project” activities and have congratulated us for the work.  Since this event starts at 3 and I have organized it, I will skip lunch that day so I can be there in time before the team arrives.

And then there’s Friday, I will be leaving early as I am meeting two friends and….

At this point, before I even said all this stuff to my friend, I caught myself and said “oh, yeah, why did I say I’m having a tough week?”

Don’t get me wrong, this is unusual and most weeks there are no celebrations and lots of meetings and problems and client complaints and people issues, but for today I’ll think about how great it is to have a job where part of the role is putting together celebrations to thank people and remind them how important they are.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in business trip, busy mom, leadership and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is this job hard?

  1. So true – sometimes saying it out loud makes it more real. It sounds like you’re an energizer bunny (takes one to know one), and we get so used to the pace, that we forget that most mortals would have collapsed long before. The first time I met with a coach, she had me do the “post it” exercise – everything that I had to do on post its. Well, her table was FULL of post its! It was very “validating” to look at it and say – yeah – I am busy (not necessarily crazy).

    Thanks again!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    How you juggle all that work and a family and still have time to blog is amazing! You must be like the Energizer Bunny! just keeps going…and going….and going…… Have a great day! 🙂

  3. uforicfood says:

    Sometimes you don’t realise how good things are until you stop and reflect a little. I find this often … and then feel guilty I’m not happier LOL
    Hope all the weeks end up as good as this one. Take care

Leave a Reply

