Do you love clouds?

I had the great fortune last week to drive for 10 hours alone, in clear, dry conditions and the clouds building along the way.  I didn’t end up in any rain, but I sure saw the clouds preparing to dump it on both my drive away from home and then back again 2 days later.

The sky was ever-changing, clouds fluffy and white, grey and scary, opaque and transparent, and fabulous to watch.

I had my camera and took full advantage.  I got shots from inside the car, and I stopped a few times to take full advantage of the view and spend a moment in awe.

I started to think I would learn more about clouds.  Pieces of knowledge came back from earlier days of science class – cumulus, stratus, cirrus.  I don’t remember what the differences are or which is which.  I guess the brain remembers triggers but not necessarily the full content of all we learned.

I do know it has to do with the height and the appearance. I’ll look them up before I get the next chance to drive along and bask in the vastness of the sky above.  For now, I’ll reflect on the journey I took, and enjoy the photos.  What a wonderful world we live in when a solo journey – heading off to meet friends – can be as pleasurable as the destination.  All made possible by water travelling in cloud formation through the air.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, friends, tech mom, Time Alone and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you love clouds?

  1. I DO love clouds! They are seriously under appreciated by the general public in my opinion. I’m so glad you too are able to see the beauty in the normal, everyday things. Some time ago, I wrote a post on clouds http://mamarazzipages.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/flying-high/
    Thank you for sharing your cloud pictures!

  2. Zahara says:

    Why yes, as a matter of fact I do love clouds. I guess it’s the time of year. Not alot of clouds here in the summer, but come fall, look out, or better yet, look up! Looking up is a beautiful thing. I keep my camera with me lately (ever since I started blogging), and every cool thing I see, I want to share with my fellow bloggers. Love it, love the clouds.

  3. whatsnormality says:

    My favorite have to be the ones that look like big wads of cotton candy in the sky, or pink and orange sunset clouds. On trips to Cape Breton when you get driving through the Cabot trail there are some pretty amazing sights.

    Also, thank you for the comment on my blog, I enjoy your writing and I will be sure to add you to my blogroll and continue to follow!

  4. I just got finished teaching the Water Cycle and the kids were telling me about what they see when they lie on the ground in the summer, watching the big, fluffy clouds. I love the clouds framed around a full moon. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

