Is teeth brushing like push-ups?

My friend gave me a new electric toothbrush as a gift.  I don’t think my teeth look bad, and I already have an electric toothbrush so I guess she gave it to me because she got a few of them from her office where she is a dental hygienist.

I was reluctant to switch from the one I had.  While I do love new, geeky technology I actually am resistant to switching when I am happy with the thing I have.  If I didn’t have an electric toothbrush yet, I would have latched onto this right away.  In fact, that is probably how I got the first one now that I think out it…she introduced me to the original electric one I’ve been using for years.

I opened the box, and looked at the brush, and couldn’t figure out why there are so many extra parts included.  It turns out there is a timer you can stick to the wall, and a case that holds different brush heads, and a lid for the case that is holding all those extra heads.

I can’t imagine having 4 extra brush heads at any time, or needing to display them on my counter if I did have them.  Is this something people actually do?  The timer for the wall is cool, but then I wonder where I would put it.  All these decisions to make and the brush started to feel like a commitment so I did what any good procrastinator would do and put it on the ledge beside my bathtub and let it sit there…just looking at me every day taunting me to make a decision:

a) use the brush

b) give it away

c) put it in the hall closet so I don’t have to keep looking at it

I didn’t do any of these…after all, I am good at the procrastination game…and 8 weeks went by.  Today, I decided it was time to deal with this taunting toothbrush.  I opened it up, read the instruction book, (yes, it is that complicated), and decided this could actually be fun.

Oral-B ProfessionalCare SmartSeries 5000 with SmartGuideThe timer lets you pick regular or professional brushing (2 minutes or 3 minutes).  I picked 2 since I am not a dentist and am unwilling to commit this much time twice a day to brushing.  I don’t like having a timer telling me I failed after all.  I next had to pick a 12 hour clock or a 24 hour clock.  I went with the 24 hour clock.  I’d hate to be brushing at 10 pm and suddenly be confused thinking that it was 10 am and I was late for work.  At this point, I thought I was done but no…..there is a choice to have the timer count up or down.  This must be a personal preference that says something about me although I don’t know what it is.  I would always choose to ‘count down’ (2 minutes left of brushing, 100 push-ups left in martial arts class), but I know my son would always pick ‘count up’.  I think if there is a ‘count up’ option, it always leaves room for adding more reps where a ‘count down’ leaves no doubt you are done when you get to zero.

The timer has two-sided tape and I put it on the wall.  On the timer, it shows each QUADRANT of your mouth so you don’t cheat any little tooth.  You must stay in each quadrant for 30 seconds.  If you have to press stop for a few seconds (like when a kid is yelling MOM and can’t walk into the room to ask their most urgent question), the timer doesn’t start over but remembers your place when you press start again.  How cool is that?

I started out thinking this new present was so gimmicky and silly and I wouldn’t use it.  I am now a convert and excited to be the proud owner of this technology and an early adopter.  (or has everyone else already used one of these?)

Whatever will I do if the batteries in my timer die?  Will I end up brushing too long, or stopping too soon?  Will I brush one side of my mouth more than the other?  The horrors I will need to deal with if that happens.  I am already becoming dependent on this little timer after just one day.  I am fortunate to have a friend to expose me to this little piece of inspiration.

Did I mention it displays a little happy face when you reach your goal for that brushing session?

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, friends, karate, martial arts, tech mom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Is teeth brushing like push-ups?

  1. huffygirl says:

    Ooh, I was planning to blog about this toothbrush myself – I guess I can’t now. Sounds like it could be the toothbrush from Hell?

    • oh, you go right ahead and blog about it girl and i will read your post…it is NOT the toothbrush from hell, i am enjoying it…some days i even say “hello there cool toothbrush” but i try not to do it when my kids can hear me…they already have me pegged as crazy

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Jumping – Welcome to our world? This is actually one of our “saner” conversations….right Gord?…..Gord.?…..Gord????…….my…these awkward silences make me look like a complete idiot!

    • Yes idiot, yes…this is fairly sane for us…I am so sorry you two were here having fun while I was swamped at work until 8pm (tough day). And can you imagine they have wordpress blocked from our corporate network?

  3. I’m sitting here reading your conversation, while all the while visualizing what it would be like to actually bust out a window and throw the electric toothbrush out the window. Would it break into a million pieces? Would it snag on a tree? Would it hit the water? Or could the idiot catch it? lol…And then, I was wondering what a person sitting next to you would think? “Is she nuts?” “Doesn’t she know that we are now going to lose cabin pressure and we are going to die?” You guys are talking about procrastination, and I am off in “What if land” lol

    • Oh, glad to hear it. I’d hate this inane conversation to be just words on the page, and appreciate that we gave you a good visual to drive you to ‘what if land’….I’d like to think of it as a football pass, with the idiot running backwards yelling ‘I got it, I got it’….

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    You ARE an American! A true Canuck would have never had the intestinal fortitude to give anyone HELL for anything…they are too damn polite! 🙂 We need to trade places. I’ll come to Canada and will supervise the Global Conglomerate Thingy ya got going on there….and you can come to Texas and oversee the Idiot Speaketh Literary Empire with it’s staff of……well actually there will be no staff if I am gone…so you will have to fly solo….but ya do get a lake right outside your front door and cute little armadillos to play with in the yard!

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    And you have to read my reply to your latest comment on MY blog. It will explain…..that I am actually……one of YOU people….(spooky music…..)

    • oh…and now we switch hats (insert more music)…I am an American who got lost in Canada and now they won’t let me go back except for short visits and holiday celebrations…I look forward to the ‘real’ Thanksgiving coming soon…I didn’t have the heart to out myself on your blog…it’s too much fun to give you hell for the Canadian bashing…

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I would but I have finally come to accept the fact that I am lazy…. yay! a breakthrough!

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Sure! If you happen to be approaching DFW and you see a large lake off to the right side of the aircraft, bust out your window and thrown that sucker out! They do float right? Just in case you miss my house…. I hear ya about the ironing board….I never use them….if something is wrinkled, I throw it out and buy a new one,….. I do however have a large stand-up vaccum cleaner that is currently dozing smack dab in the middle of the hallway where it has been for the last week because I keep “forgetting” to put it up. I don’t know if this is true procrastination or just plain laziness. 🙂

    • Here’s how I see it. It’s laziness if you find yourself laying on the couch thinking about doing it, and not doing it, and not really doing anything. It’s procrastination if you find a million other things to do ahead of the thing that would be easy to just do, and you know you’re going to do it, and you eventually do. (not sure you’d find that in the dictionary though) Ironing board is now away – so go get that vacuum!

  8. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    GORD – I don’t like to use any type of bathroom utensil that is smarter than I am. I know my quadrants….top, bottom, and those other two I keep forgetting…. And YOU Procrastinate? I find that hard to believe….. ya already put in 18 hour days…where in the world do you find time to procrastinate? I really want to know… I need some new tricks! 🙂

    • oh, i could teach procrastinating classes….i get a lot done every day, but not always the things i should do and certainly not the things those around me would think are important (like the ironing board sitting in the room long after i finished ironing…i hate to put that thing away, it makes such a creaky sound and is just a nuisance). and i am late for EVERYTHING (even my own wedding) because i put off leaving for every appointment, meeting, lunch, vacation while i try to fit in just one more thing…i’m not lazy, sometimes i even procrastinate relaxing

      want my old electric toothbrush? i can drop it from a plane next time i am near DFW

Leave a Reply

