Help – I have a fever.

I can’t believe I have a fever.  Aren’t those supposed to be for kids and old people?

Monday afternoon I had a fever…slight and annoying, not kicking my butt.  I came home from work a bit early, rested and felt okay on Tuesday.  Tuesday had a scratchy throat, chided myself for being a baby and on with my day.  Wednesday more of the same..until night time as I was getting ready for bed…and then felt really sick and “lost my lunch”.

Put myself to bed, lots of covers to stop the shivers, and slept between the 12 times I woke up…just the bodies way to remind me that I am sick?  Why the heck do I have to keep waking up just to go to sleep?

Got up this morning…knew I had to get to work…so much to do, don’t need it piling up, just a low grade fever, how bad could it be?

My husband made me tea for the road, told me I looked fine when I asked if I looked as bad as I felt, and handed me two cold tablets.  I asked what they were and he said Nyquil gel caplets.  I said I thought they were for night-time as they make you drowsy and he told me not to worry, that these were the daytime version.

Off I went, drank the tea, attended a few meetings, and popped one of the caplets as I felt the fever rising.  Two hours later sitting in a meetings…8 people started to look like 4, I can’t read the words on the paper…what is going on?  My eyes are fuzzy and now they are drooping…maybe if I could just close them for 2 minutes and rest a bit, I’ll feel better.

Oh no, can’t do that…someone is asking me a question.  What am I thinking?  I’m in a meeting…people are watching me…I must look dopey…what can I do?  They ask if I am alright…best thing to do is tell the truth…explain the Nyquil caplet and everyone laughs.  One person asserts that you can’t take Nyquil and function which at this point is quite obvious even to me when my brain is not functioning!

Leave the meeting, get some coffee, take a quick walk and I am feeling okay.

Later in the day, I feel the fever start to rise again, throat feels like hell, and coughing jags are frequent.  I am not taking that second Nyquil until I am safely home.  No one needs me driving with that little gel caplet inside me!

Tomorrow will be a better day…please tell me you believe it.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, Time Alone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Help – I have a fever.

  1. whatsnormality says:

    Rolling around in a dumpster eh? sounds like a wise choice.
    Just for that I’m going to check out your blog.

  2. yellowcat says:

    The only positive thing about working around so many germs is I rarely get sick. I might have a runny nose or a sore throat for a day, but then I’m over it. Instead of Nyquil, you should try rolling around in a Dumpster every day…you know, a proactive approach rather than a reactive one.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • Thanks for the idea (I think) yellowcat. I know you talked about having to clean bathrooms, but didn’t realize there was dumpster diving involved. We may need to help you with a new employment contract!

  3. Ollin says:

    I believe it.

    Hope you get better, my friend! 🙂

  4. whatsnormality says:

    IDIOT!? How will I ever have such wisdom with those prices. Good grief. $122.99 in Canada!? D: Might as well join the geese next year in their migration south

  5. whatsnormality says:

    I hope you feel better soon! Everyone I know is getting sick lately, and that blows to hear because I simply want to kill myself when I have a fever; I don’t do sick well.
    Because chicken soup makes me gag, make yourself a hot bowl of SOMETHING, even hot chocolate. the existence of hot chocolate when I am sick reminds me how much God freakin loves me.

    • thanks Normality. Hot chocolate sounds great. I’ll order that the next time one of the people in my house shows up to see what else I need. Today they have been waiting on me all day, but seems they have abandoned me now!

  6. I hope you are feeling better! I like your message above when you says “it is time to find a new host”..lol..too funny. There is nothing worse than having a fever and then you have to take a shower…not fun…I shake so much I could make a martini..lol

    • Very funny Jumping. Maybe you could shake the martini while in the shower, then drink it and pass out. It’s awful when you take a shower to feel better and then get dressed and fall over from the exertion.

  7. toemailer says:

    Hope the weekend gives you a chance to get the chill out (smile).

    • thanks toemailer. Chilling is exactly the right idea for my week-end schedule. Other than heading out for a massage and to cheer on my boy in hockey tomorrow, I have reserved my bed for all other hours.

  8. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Don’t go near the light Gord! Stay away from the light!!!

  9. Zahara says:

    The ‘fever/flu/what have you’ gets to decide how much ‘sleep/time off’ is enough. Let it take it’s course, there’s no fooling with Mother Nature. Surrender, Dorothy! All will be well soon.

  10. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    This silence better mean you are unconscious in your bed, knocked out from the Nyquil and the 3 empty wine bottles on the floor! You better not be at work!!!! – Mock

  11. I have pneumonia, yet I am at work. I deserve this feeling. Should stay in bed. Wish I felt groovy on Nyquil 😉

  12. Oh hun, I believe it with all my heart! I find that when I am sick, sleeping as much as possible and just becoming apathetic to my “duties” temporarily is the BEST medicine for the job. I also find that if you treat the symptoms of whatever you have as soon as you get them….that is best.

    I hope you are feeling better my love! I do dislike being sick. 😦

    Much love and blessings to you Super (not working today!) Tech Mom!

    CatMan

  13. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Pfffffffttttttt!!!!!………clunk! (Sound of tranquilizer dart whizzing past you…lodging harmlessly into wall just below your framed painting of Howie Mandel……

    Sorry, looks like I missed you with my last dart.
    If you slept 9 hours and still feel worse, You better have stayed home from work today or I will come up there and kick YOUR ASS!!!!!!!….(pardon my French)…. and, furthermore, if you continue to feel bad…… you might actually have to do the dreaded “D” word………(gasp!)………..

    So, first things first…….ARE YOU AT HOME???

  14. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Gordo – Seems like you are outnumbered my Quasi-Canuck friend….. You need to stay home!! Do we need to send someone across the border with a tranquilizer gun? We will do it! We had to put down Celine during a rather off-key performance when she was battling the flu….we can do it again! Don’t make us take you down woman!!! – Nurse Mock…..the dude you called “Nurse Mick” in your deranged, feverish, drug-induced stupor….. 🙂

    • Oh, hi Nurse Mock (aka Mick, Mack, paddy wack)…

      I think I do need friends with tranquilizer guns…I woke up feeling worse. What gives? I slept 9 hours…I never sleep 9 hours, isn’t that enough to give to my body to fight this stupid fever, cough, throat with knives in it? Put me out of my misery please.

  15. huffygirl says:

    Hope you feel better. And stay away from the Nyquil – it’s coma in a bottle!

  16. Expressmom says:

    I know other ‘at home’ moms will hunt me down & kill me for this……. but, seriously there is no way I could function if I were feeling the way you are. When I get sick, I go to bed. That’s it. None of my ‘work’ gets done. And I don’t have to worry about my boss or my peers or my staff. Actually, my peers, other stay-at-home moms, will even come over & do my work for me! Like carpool or drop off a meal. They are sad that I am sick & then pick up my slack.

    So, at the risk of a vigilante SAHM burning a crib on my front lawn, I say: going out to work is 1,000,000x harder!!!!

    Get well soon!

    • Whoa – good for you to have such a great support system in place. Thanks for the nice words, but being with kids has lots of different challenges.

      I remember when my kids were young and I was sick…I would take them both into my bed so I could nap, lock the bedroom door and put something heavy in front of it in case they tried to get out!

  17. Things will be much better tomorrow if you STAY HOME! 😀 Really. Work will be there when you’re well enough to return. Did you really get anything accomplished when you went in? Huh? Huh? 🙂 Take care of yourself.

    Two years ago, I had the flu BAAAAAAAD. Two weeks in bed, lost eleven pounds, and when I returned to work, I was so weak, I was hugging the walls as I walked down the hallways. Get into bed now and stay there. Feel better.

    • Thanks Margaret for the kind words…and the sage advice. I actually did get done what I needed today…I was doing 3 performance reviews for people who work for me, and I know they prepared for this annual conversation. I didn’t want to ruin their day by rescheduling because sometimes people are anxious for these reviews. I do know what you mean about the work being there later…so I cancelled all my morning meetings and plan to sleep in as long as possible. 🙂

  18. Nurse Mick…Please lie…I need hope. The fever has rested in me for about 3 days now. I think it’s time to go find a new host and not overstay the welcome. I am usually very healthy so now I am just pissed.

  19. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Gord – My dear friend…I could lie to ya and tell you that tomorrow will be better…which I hope it is…..but Nurse Mock knows that the chances are pretty good that you will need to stay home tomorrow if at all possible. You really need to stay in bed all day long, drug yourself up, and rest. Let someone else run the Ninja Empire for a day. Take care of yourself! – Nurse Mock

Leave a Reply

