What makes a day gone wrong feel great?

Japanese Maple outside my window

Today was a day off work and I had plans.  As soon as I woke up the plans went awry and yet as the day played itself out, I was enjoying myself.  This made me reflect on what makes a day feel great even when it is not as planned.  Here’s what I found makes a day feel great to me – how about you?

  1. sunshine
  2. mind engaged
  3. time alone
  4. government worker unexpectantly being nice and treating me like a human
  5. time to do what I want
  6. eating when I want, what I want
  7. time to shop for something I want (not need)
  8. being needed (even for something I didn’t want to do)
  9. change of pace
  10. a surprise sighting of Jessica Simpson

I am a person of routine and most of the time I like it.  Today was a day I could do whatever I wanted and I had it planned from 8am on.  When I woke up and got ready for the day, I was notified of a crisis at work.  This had the blessed effect of engaging my mind.  Although the issue was not welcomed, the impact on me was so I didn’t wile away my time with a sleepy head and wondering where the hours had gone before I got going.

I had three errands to run – none of them went as planned – and yet each of the encounters resulted in an unplanned interesting interaction with someone I normally would not have met.  I was out and about in an area of the city I don’t typically frequent because I wasn’t scheduled around getting to or from work, picking up kids from work, school, martial arts, or hockey, and the sun was out so I didn’t mind a bit of a drive during daytime hours when there was no traffic.

Oh, and one more thing I forgot – the traffic signs on the highway said “Express and Collector lanes moving well”.  The message I though was merely myth.

(Highway 401 is the busiest roadway in North America, surpassing the Santa Monica Freeway in Los Angeles.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ontario_Highway_401 )

The sighting of Jessica was on t.v. this morning, but if I hadn’t been off work, I would have missed seeing her!

Calm view from my trip to Tennessee

May you have a calm, meandering, pleasant, rewarding day like I had one day soon.  As I move into the hectic, frenetic, lively week-end of Thanksgiving with lots of family and two newborns, I will enjoy those days as they have a completely different impact on my body and soul.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, karate, martial arts, tech mom, Time Alone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What makes a day gone wrong feel great?

  1. Catherine says:

    LOL, I couldn’t wait to hear about the Jessica Simpson spotting. Fooled me there. 🙂
    Great post.

  2. I agree with your list except the Jessica thing – For me it’s Mark Messier. When he was on the Lays commercials, I would watch too much tv in hopes of spying him. #4 was funny because THAT never happens in Alberta 🙂

    • Hi tourist! That’s funny about Mark Messier and you watching t.v. to catch him! As for #4, maybe you could hang out in a government office one day (as a tourist) and try to ‘catch’ someone being nice….then you could tell us about it. They are sure great places to do people watching.

  3. What a beautiful day! Don’t you just love those?? 🙂

  4. Glad you had a good day Gord, Lord knows you probably deserved it. Have a safe and happy Holiday weekend. – Mock

  5. I’m with you on 1, 2, 3, and 5. But a mild night with transparent clouds blowing across a bright moon is right up there. I was feeling like I had been cooped up all day and not getting stuff down the other night. I also hadn’t done my workout that day and the day was almost over. Finally put on my workout clothes and went for a walk. It was just what I needed to get back on track mentally.

  6. Zahara says:

    Howdy, W.T. Mom, glad your day turned out nicely. In the wrong hands it might have been less happy! Love your attitude, flexibility is key. Have a great Turkey Day.

    I jumped rope again today.

    • Flexibility is NOT my middle name. I try and mostly I succeed, but it is tough!

      Where you jumping rope with a pie in your hands? Is this a new fitness kick? I don’t think I own a jump rope.

Leave a Reply

