Watch out – a chicken pox epidemic!

Today at work we got a memo about a chicken pox outbreak.

I work in a large corporate environment and the company is located in multiple buildings in Toronto.  We have a business continuity team and a disaster recovery team who advise us when there is something happening in the company or in the city that could impact our ability to manage the work we do.

These teams are important and provide great advice for things like the massive blackout a few years ago, working in the city during the G20 Summit, and what to do in the event of a large ice storm.

But chicken pox…is this really something we need a business continuity plan to get through?  The memo told us what to look for, and advised people not to travel to the building where the outbreak occurred.  There is talk about getting laptops for people so they can do work at home and not have to come to this frightening, contagious, life-threatening environment.

I was wondering why we would have this level of serious planning for something like chicken pox.  I remember from days when my kids had it that by the time you see the spots, the person has already been able to infect others so the warning is probably too late to help anyone avoid catching it…and then I wonder how many people have been infected.

I read further on, and the note says there is one person who has reported having chicken pox.

ONE PERSON…really…and we need some type of emergency response?  I guess the business continuity people wanted us to remember who they were.

Tomorrow, I’m thinking I’ll sit in a meeting and start scratching my arm and say to someone “I can’t believe how itchy I am, is this a bump on my arm?”  May as well have a little fun with it!

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, leadership, tech mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Watch out – a chicken pox epidemic!

  1. # says:

    And when you do get that door back on track, you will have to retrain him or her
    to do this. With your helper holding the door in its usual position before you completely start the
    installation. Hollow Metal doors and frames provide the qualities to meet these
    needs. You can either apply a coat of interior grade
    latex primer over the repair and onto the existing woodwork.

  2. Oh, my, the whining for sure. My ex used to come downstairs with his robe and slippers on, telling me he had a fever..(98.9) and would quit shaving while he was sick. And I could hear him to the kids, “I’m siiiick.” Oh pulease..lol

  3. yellowcat says:

    I’ve heard chicken pox in adults is horrible. It’s especially horrible if an adult man comes down with them. Stay away from any adult men who have chicken pox or your ears will never stop ringing from all the whining.

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Gord – You gotta do that!! Even better…..put a bunch of red dots all over your arms just under your sleeves…that way when you roll them up to scratch….the people will get to see the spots….. that should send people sprinting (oops Canada…) Skating for the door! Do it!!!! 🙂

    • Hi idiot…that would be funny, just slip my sleeve up a bit and shazam – “oh, no, what is this?” I did slip a chicken pox comment into a serious conversation today and another person in the meeting said “it was only one person for heaven’s sake….” so I guess I wasn’t the only one who got the insanity.

  5. Slight confession…I have never had chicken pox! I have been exposed on multiple occasions and never gotten it! How crazy is that? I have now of course been vaccinated… 🙂

    Personally I would go with the food coloring to get a small vacation! 🙂 I am with Zahara on that one!

  6. Zahara says:

    How about a bunch of red dots on your face and arms, food coloring? Not very professional, I know.

Leave a Reply

