Can’t you just be nice?

Walking down the hall…notice someone is behind me.  Turn around and see my boss.

me – are you following me?

Boss – no

keep walking, he keeps following.

I stop…

me – did you need me?

Boss – I just need to tell you something

me – oh, new work?  😦

Boss – No. This is something good, stop thinking there is always a problem when I come to see you.

me – ok
Boss – I got a note today from a guy in our client group.  He said you have provided terrific service and have delivered everything the client wanted.

me – oh, he is a great partner to work with

Boss – yes, he obviously thinks you are also a great partner (pause) and I told him I want the drugs he takes that makes him think you are great at your job.

me – Management 101, you are supposed to do that in two sentences.  First sentence – provide the compliment and then pause. Second sentence – add the sarcasm.  When you do it in one sentence, it’s not very nice.

Boss – my wife keeps telling me women don’t like the sarcasm part like men do.

me – guess you are a slow learner

Boss – yes, she says that too.  Anyway, good job…have a good night.  Tomorrow, for sure, something can go wrong.

me – good night, thanks for the pep talk.

or, are you just a whale?

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, leadership, tech mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Can’t you just be nice?

  1. OMG! That was mean of your boss.

    I used to be sarcastic. My dad couldn’t stand it. Then one day I took an assertiveness class and learned that sarcasm is an aggressive form of a put down meant to hurt or shame. Guess my dad had a pretty good reason for wanting me to stop. Although, I think it was a gender thing.

  2. whatsnormality says:

    “One day I was in Hong Kong and had the opportunity to go to China.”
    SLOW DOWN CRAZY.
    My jaw dropped here.
    I have never even been out of Canada. I have been on a plane ONCE.
    :O
    this is crazy, and I am so jealous

    • thanks normality! your comment helped me keep things in perspective. i go through periods at work where i have to travel more than i want to and miss my family and my normal life…but having you say you are jealous made me reflect on the cool things i have been exposed to as a result. you should at least be able to plan a trip to the U.S. to at least get out of Canada for a minute..no?

  3. Techy-
    OH dear you make me laugh! 🙂

    I picture your boss like the manager in “Office Space” (…..UM…yeahhhh…..I’m going to need you to come in on Sattturday….) What a fabulous visual!

    How are those chicken pox?

    • hi rosebandit…

      I like the comparison to Office Space…I could probably do a whole blog on my days at work and the crazy things that happen…but then I might start realizing how crazy it is and be unable to cope.

      The chicken pox surprisingly did not cause the company to shut down with only one reported case. I guess the person got famous though. 🙂

  4. Catherine says:

    LOL, not the best management, but he does sound like an interesting character…

  5. Zahara says:

    Sarcasm, Schmarcasm, it would be really nice to get pure, delicious, 100% organic, all-natural, grass-fed compliments without any added fillers, such as sarcasm, to bring us back down. Save it for the coffee break. Have a little tact, boss!

    WTM, you did a great job, way to go. Bask in the moment.

  6. Hmm, I think there is always a thin line and it’s easy to cross. I personally like sarcasm but not at the risk of not being nice. But it sounds as though he meant well…it’s intentions that count, right? 😉

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Yep….your right…..I am the king of Sarcasm and ya have to have the pause…… just like a comic delivering a punch line…… Give the guy a break…. he’s obviously an amateur…… not everyone is so skilled in the sarcastic arts like you and I…..(pause)…. right Gord? 🙂

  8. Oh Margaret, why am I not surprised at that? Have a great day. 🙂

  9. 😀 I kinda like the sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

