A funny thing happened on the way to China

One day I was in Hong Kong and had the opportunity to go to China.  Living in Toronto, this was a big deal for me and I had no idea what to expect.

I went with three colleagues from work – 2 who also live in Toronto and one who lived in Hong Kong.  We had to get a visitor’s visa and some Chinese money to use (RMB).

We took the train from Hong Kong to Shenzhen and looked forward to our day.

When we arrived, there were several checkpoint lines to go through and papers to fill out and it seemed like there was more security than airport travel in North America. (imagine that)

We started walking down one corridor and I veered left when I should have stayed to the right.  A kind gentleman (I assume he worked there, but it wasn’t clear) stopped me and redirected me to the right side of the room where I joined a line and reconnected with two of my colleagues.  I was relating how I had been directed here and wondered how the man had known I was headed to the wrong line.  They pointed to the signs that said “foreigners” and “citizens”.

I asked how the guy would know I was a foreigner.  One of my colleagues laughed as he told me that I was the only blond, white girl in the whole room and the guy probably didn’t have to think too hard about it!

When you come out of the train station, there are lines of young women.  These are the ‘second wives’ or ‘week-end wives’, women who are waiting for men who come from Hong Kong to spend the week-end with them.  The men pay for a nice apartment near the border of HK and China, and the women spend time with the man when he is taking time off his important (and lucrative) work in Hong Kong.  The men are often married to the first wife in Hong Kong and go to China for some relaxing time with the second wife where they don’t have any worries and are always welcomed.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in business trip, busy mom, leadership, Time Alone and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A funny thing happened on the way to China

  1. yellowcat says:

    Interesting about the second wife. I think I would be a better second wife than a first wife. I’m all about the fun with none of the work.

  2. Ollin says:

    That’s weird. I had a dream I visited China the other day. Did you get to see the great wall? I’ve been to japan, I loved it very much. Very cute country.

    • Hi Ollin.
      Whoa, it’s very coincidental that you had the dream about China. I did not get to see the Great Wall as we had very limited time before we had to get back to Hong Kong and work. I have never been to Japan, but I’m sure it would be an adventure.

  3. Hi WTM, sounds a very interesting trip! I’ve only got as far as Singapore and that was in the 90s. Hmm, the week-end wives thing is a marvel as well. But I have to say a similaer thing goes on in parts of Africa where I am from. Ciao.

    • hi addict..interesting to know that about Africa too. I bet there are a lot of wives who would love to have their own husband for just week-ends…not saying that about mine (cuz maybe he is reading this!). My girlfriends and I talked about getting a condo in the city that we could each rotate for one night a week…not like the men would think…we wanted it to look clean, have nice candles, a reading chair, peace and quiet, toilet seat down, no laundry piled up, no shoes to trip over, no crumbs on the counter…heaven for a day for every busy mom!

  4. What job do you have? It sounds fun 😉 Lordy, I could only wish I was tall fair and blonde….welp guess I can start dreaming!

    • Hi rosebandit…I manage a technical team (programmers, etc.)…and used to have people working for me in Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, and the Phillipines. Now I just have a team in India, Canada, and the U.S.

      I am not tall by any means…probably the shortest person in senior management at my company. 😦

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I envy ya Gord. I have always wanted to visit Hong Kong and China. I imagine I would stand out as well…..a tall nordic looking doofus like myself….. 🙂

    • Oh that would be funny Idiot…they would be staring at you for sure. Seems all the men in China are shorter than the men in Hong Kong. I don’t get why since they are Asian and live only miles apart.

  6. Zahara says:

    Funny, white-blond-girl. Do the weekend wives get to live in the apartments during the week? This reminds me of my weekend relationship, except there is no “weekday wife” involved. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

