Baby has a sinus headache, and I am editing an English paper

Kid – mom, I am supposed to edit a paper for my friend, and she is supposed to edit for me

Me – that’s nice to help each other out

Kid – but today I have a driving lesson and I work at 5:00, and then I am going to a birthday party / sleep over

Me – I didn’t know you were going to sleep over, you have to tell me these things

Kid – I told dad

Me – you know that doesn’t count because dad forgets to tell me and he doesn’t think about all the other things going on for the week-end

Kid – ok…so are you saying I can’t go to the party?

Me – no, you can go…we just need to work out the details for the rides and stuff

Kid – ok, so mom, I am supposed to edit the paper for my friend and I won’t have time…will you do it for me?

Me – hmmmmm…….I’ll edit her paper and she will edit yours and then I am done…?

Kid – well, after she edits mine, I’ll still want you to edit it…you are so good, and I always like when you help me

Me – (silence)

Kid – mom?

Me – well, I get it that you are busy, but you have an hour right now so why can’t you at least get it started

Kid – mom, I have a sinus headache and I was going to lay down and try to get rid of it before I go for my driving lesson

Me – ok, get me the paper and I’ll do the editing

What do you think? ย Have I been had?


About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, friends, tech mom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Baby has a sinus headache, and I am editing an English paper

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    A kid after my own heart. You have SOOOOO been had Gord! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. huffygirl says:

    I think he/she got ya. You’ll be ready next time with a quick come back. I like Margaret’s methods.

  3. whatsnormality says:

    I feel as though that excuse wouldn’t fly with my parents ๐Ÿ˜„

  4. Rea says:

    The “your so good at editing Mom” was where you let your guard down. They always get you with a zinger compliment. Man, those kids are clever.

  5. Zahara says:

    Yo, WTM, there’s plenty of room over here in the “biggest-softie-mom-in-the-world-club”.

    • oh zahara, the dark side…i try not to look lest I’ll be tempted! if I become the softie in this house, there would be no rules and I’m sure someone would come and take the kids away.

  6. Margaret, I better watch out or you will steal my “meanest mom in the world” trophy!

  7. Um, yeah. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I usually try something like, “A sinus headache? Oh, that must hurt. You know what? Skip the driving lesson. Get into bed. I’ll bring you a nice soothing cup of tea. You can always go to the next sleepover.” Usually, at that point, an arm reaches out and grabs the homework from my hand. I know, I’m evil.

Leave a Reply

