How does a traffic jam lead to a head cold?

Today was an abnormal day…and I was set to enjoy it.  I typically have 7-10 meetings a day in my corporate job, but today I had only 2.  This is a luxury for me and although the two meetings totalled 7 hours, they were meetings with people I enjoy and topics that were interesting.  On top of that, the first meeting had COFFEE and food, and the second one had lunch and terrific DESSERTS!

So I head off for my day and get stuck in traffic because geez…there is 1/2 inch of snow on the ground and it’s only Canada so how could we expect people to know how to drive?

The meetings went great…lots of good conversation, the coffee was hot, I sat beside interesting people, and we made important decisions.

I headed home, giddy with the thought of leaving before 5 pm as this is unheard of for me unless I have a specific commitment that night.  Leave work, get on the highway, traffic is moving, tunes are on, life is good….

…turn the corner, take the next ramp onto the main highway that will bring me close to home, and scrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeech…….all cars are stopped.  What the @#$% is going on?  Ice on the road, traffic going slowly, I can’t believe this is happening…

3 hours later, I pull into my driveway.

Eat some dinner, sneeze a few times, and realize my nose is drip…drip…dripping.

I leave for work healthy and happy this morning, and come home tonight with a cold.

You can say there’s no such thing as getting a cold from being stuck in traffic, but as for me…I believe.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, leadership, tech mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How does a traffic jam lead to a head cold?

  1. Zahara says:

    Well, that sucks! You should keep a stash of really good books on tape in your car for times like that, and some echinacea, too, apparently. Hope you’re all better in the morning.

    • Thanks Zahara…I did was up feeling much better. The books on tape is a good idea. I was also thinking of snacks while I sat there not moving, but not sure I could leave them alone until the snow days.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I got an empathy cold just reading this post….sniffle….cough….. hang in there Gord! 🙂

  3. It’s ONLY Canada?!? You mean TORONTO! That’s different 😉
    I believe it, I’ve seen it happen. Nyquil and sleep well my friend!

Leave a Reply

