Really?

3 days before Christmas and we need to have meetings from 9am – 5pm…really?

 

I’m sure I could get more work done if I wasn’t so busy.

Please comment on my post and give me your best advice to reduce meetings or at least cope with them!

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, tech mom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Really?

  1. Cough and hack like you’re about to toss up a lung. Wipe your nose along your sleeve and make loud nasty sniffling noises. Then fart. That should pretty much end your meetings. LOL Anything else I can do to help, just let me know – I’m always here for you. snort

    • Hi crone…that sounds like a very good plan. I think I’ll skip the farting, but I’ll go with the hacking and sniffling…I bet that will go a long way.

      Good to know I can count on you. Hang in there, I’m sure I’ll need some more advice soon!

  2. Simply just say no. 🙂 We told my cousin that when he went to Christmas Formal this past weekend….seemed to work for him?!

  3. The anti-Nike slogan is my advice: Just don’t do it.

    In 24 years of work experience, 17 as a consultant, I can honestly say 99% of the meetings I’ve been forced to attend were pointless time-wasters.

    If the person calling the meeting wrote down the purpose of it on a piece of paper and stared at it for 5 minutes, those email invites would never go out.

    • Hi Margaret…this may need to be a New Year’s resolution for me – “just don’t do it”. I will work to be more selective with less attendance.

      Thanks for the thoughts…it may be the kick-start I needed.

  4. huffygirl says:

    Love your ideas, idiotspeaketh!

  5. huffygirl says:

    When I worked for a large hospital, we had endless meetings that never accomplished anything. There was almost never any follow-through on the things we said we were going to do at the meeting. We’d have hagels (spelling?) over equipment we thought we needed and never got, even if the manager agreed at the meeting that we could get it. Now I work for a small clinic with 7 employees. We only have meetings if we have something to discuss. If I request equipment from the manager, I have it the next day, despite that my clinic operates on a fraction of the budget of the large hospital. We have great teamwork and are very productive. I wouldn’t trade places with my former job for anything. I certainly don’t miss the meetings.

    • Hi huffy.

      Sounds like you landed in a good place in your small clinic. Could be there is moon for the equipment because they aren’t paying people for all the hours in meetings!

      I wonder how many meetings end up like the ones you mentioned in your large hospital, where there is no follow-through on things discussed in the meetings.

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    1. If you are the Grand Poobah…..is there a #2 Poobah just beneath you that could run some of the these meetings and then report to you?
    2. Set a time limit on the meetings. Tell everyone in attendance that they will be docked a full days pay if the meeting goes past a set time limit. You will never see people talk so fast in your life.
    3. Buy some blood red contacts to place in your eyes. Wear nothing but black clothing, have real long fake fingernails, and have two Dobermans seated next to you as you conduct your meeting. Convinced they are working for Satan HERSELF….they will do as you command and will do whatever is nescessary to get out of the meeting as quickly as possible.

    Just some ideas Gord….. Have a good one!

    • Hi Mark…

      I like #1 and #2. I’m not sure about #3 because dogs aren’t allowed, or maybe because red isn’t my colour, or maybe …. because it is CRAZY! (but sure did make me laugh)

      #2 could be fun also if everyone just talked at once and got out what they wanted to say. Maybe 5 minutes is all it would take!

  7. My way of getting through meetings: Gulp (not sip) coffee, scribble notes (just for the sake of nosey people who think you aren’t paying attention), dream up blog ideas and wonderful things to do with your kids (must nod head for it to look like you are listening), go back to desk and read “minutes” from each meeting (or at least one…they all covered the same stuff anyway). Repeat until end of day. Blog about it. Kiss kiddos. Repeat daily routine until next weekend or holiday.

    • Hi ‘dearlife’…great ideas… I will scribble notes about my blog, and dream of what to do with the kids when I get home.

      If I gulp the coffee though, how will I get another one for the rest of the meeting?

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

