Tribute…do you have a terrific little brother?

image courtesy of AllLayedOut.com

I have a little brother….well, not little in size to me, but younger.  I’ve always called him my little brother though.

I have such great memories of our time spent together.  No, we didn’t always get along but mostly we did.  I do remember my mom saying the only thing she hated as we were growing up was when we fought.  I didn’t get it until I had two kids and felt the same way.

image courtesy of http://www.image.net

Today is my little brother’s birthday so I have been reflecting on the fun we had…

  • playing basketball for hours in the driveway, H-O-R-S-E and one-on-one
  • little bro’ standing at the back door and watching for the school bus so I could finish ‘doing my hair’ until the last second, and then yelling “BUS” so I could come running

    image courtesy of istockphoto.com

  • scheming to distract our older brother so we could claim the bean bag chairs and the channel on the t.v. for shows we liked before he could sit down
  • chasing each other and the dog around the back yard with lots of noise
  • being the official scorekeeper for his little league baseball team
  • planning ways to hide peas so we didn’t have to eat them (including making a ring of them under the plate, and putting them in our mouth and going to the bathroom and spitting them in the toilet)
  • playing school, and him always letting me be the teacher
  • whispering at night from his room to mine and back until mom or dad yelled to “cut it out”
  • riding roller coasters together and taunting each other if either one was scared

And one of my best memories…when my parents got me a birthday cake with a picture of my yellow triumph spitfire on it…and I wrecked the car the day before my birthday.  After singing Happy Birthday, my dear little brother took the knife, smushed in the front of the car made of icing and asked with a smile on his face “is this more like it Sis?”

photo courtesy of auto.howstuffworks.com

A stunt only a little brother could get away with.

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tribute…do you have a terrific little brother?

  1. Catherine says:

    LOL!!! Love the story about the birthday cake. Haha!

  2. Sounds like loads of fun. Me and my sister used to push the peas slowly onto the floor, we had a boxer named Tammy, who we knew would eat them. And she did.
    My brother and I had an 8 year gap, it was too large to be friends. I always felt like i was the au-pair…… I think sometimes i still feel that way.
    xx

    • Oh bookie…our dog was strictly outside or I’m sure we would have used that trick. To this day, I can’t eat canned peas.

      My bother is 2 years younger and we did have loads of fun. Wonder if your brother thinks of you as the au-pair? Does he still ask you to help him put on his socks? 🙂

  3. toemailer says:

    No little brother but gonna wish a great 2011 anyway!!!! 🙂

  4. Expressmom says:

    I hope my daughter feels this way about her little brother 30 years from now!!!

  5. huffygirl says:

    I never had a little brother but sounds like it would have been fun to have one!

  6. hmm…this sounds like my house a bit! Except I have two pretty exceptional “little” bros. 🙂 I must say it is ironic that I have 4 little siblings that are all taller than me!

    You are a great big sister!!

    • Hi rosebandit…I am the smallest in my family including my mom. I am the only person I know who has not grown taller than her own mother. My little one (son) has not yet passed me, but when he does…I’m officially the smallest in all aspects of the extended family except for kids under age 10.

      Glad to hear you have two exceptional little bros. Must be double the fun!

Leave a Reply

