Hooray for today!


image courtesy of fakingteam.blogspot.com

  1. Drove into work with a friend so the commute was enjoyable instead of torture.

  2. Met with 6 people to talk about how to do things better.  Each person had thoughtful, valuable ideas and I got to watch their thought process.
  3. Talked to 3 people who had a BIG problem to solve.  I was able to see it from a different view and offer a suggestion that broke through the “how will we ever solve this” feeling. (just from experience, not because I am smarter than they are)
  4. Had time to write my speech and practice it for a team meeting this afternoon.
  5. Ate lunch alone (one of my favourite guilty pleasures that my friends don’t understand), time to reflect before the team meeting.  The food was good and the waitress kind.

    image courtesy of theflowerlegacy.webs.com

  6. New project and I needed someone to lead it.  The person we selected is available and keen to take it on. (hard to get both those things to happen at the same time)
  7. Gave my speech to the team (300 people) and it was well received.  Hit all the key messages, got reactions from the audience, and wasn’t too nervous.
  8. All the presentations at the meeting went off without a hitch.  I selected 12 people from my team, gave them an assignment for doing presentations, and a short time period (7 days) to prepare.  They not only rose to the occasion…they worked together, delivered the material, and were proud of themselves.  They also got resounding applause from the crowd.  (this was more fun to experience than getting the good reaction to my own speech)
  9. No snow on the road for the drive home.
  10. Big one at work, little one at martial arts.  Time alone with my husband to relax and talk with no interruptions.

image courtesy of wimminwiselpts.wordpress.com

 

I’ve had some tough days recently…and today was one that helped put the pleasure back into the job and the day!

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, happiness, tech mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hooray for today!

  1. So glad all the pieces came together, WTM.

  2. Expressmom says:

    Yay you!

    I was planning to continue a pity party today, but you really knocked all the wind out of those sails! THANKS! (Cyber Hug Enclosed HERE!)

    • Hi Expressmom. I’m glad I could help you in that way. When I start planning my next pity party, I’ll reach out to you to pull me back. Maybe we could form a group of 7, and then appoint a person to take one day of the week to push the positive vibes out to the other 6 people! Then we each need to only rally our strength 1 day of 7 to be the rally-er.

  3. Sounds like a pretty darn great day – and well done for all your planning and achievements.
    Sunshine xx

  4. Sounds like you ahve had an awesome start to the New Year!! So now you have a yard stick to measure your days with- haha.
    Hope today is just as great!
    xx

  5. Zahara says:

    Happy for you, With all you do, I can only imagine how hard it is to have all things line up nicely, like they did today. Congratulations, and may more days like today fill your future!

  6. Sounds FAB! YAY for TODAY!

  7. Honey, CONGRATS! I am so glad you had an amazing day. I must second that guilty pleasure of yours…darlin’ this post is amazing. 🙂

  8. huffygirl says:

    Glad you had a good day WTM!

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    It’s always a pleasure to read when you have great days at work Gord! Wishing you many…many more this year! Have a great evening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

