20 Year Guarantee

Today my husband and I bought new wedding rings.  We have been married 20 years and no, we are not doing a “renewal” / 2nd wedding ceremony.

Wedding Band

image courtesy of Peoples Jewellers

 

His wedding ring broke.  He never took it off for 20 years and does a lot of projects around the house, on the car, on his motorcycle, etc.  So this ring had a lot of wear and tear.  Instead of having it fixed, I asked him if he’d like to look at a new ring.  Somewhere I slipped in there that if he got a new one, I should also look at a new one since we had matching rings and they would no longer match.

So today we bought them and they are beautiful.  We had fun, talking and laughing, and trying on rings that we would never wear, and saying who we thought would wear them.  Silly fun, easy fun.  Just what I needed today.

image courtesy of Calvin and Hobbes

After we had them picked, I asked the jeweller if these had a 20 year guarantee on them.  She started to say they had a lifetime guarantee, then realized my joke.  I said the first pair got us through 20 years of marriage, and asked if this pair could do as well.

My husband then said “I’ll either be dead or you’ll wish I was long before another 20 years with me honey”.  I told him he’s not getting out that easy.

Life is good.  Even after bad news, life is good if you plan it that way.

(and lots of good vibes from friends also helps)

image courtesy of http://www.allthetests.com

 

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 20 Year Guarantee

  1. yellowcat says:

    How wonderful that you’ve made it 20 years and still love each other enough to buy new rings. I lasted 9 years and the only thing I wanted to pick out for him was a coffin.

    • John Erickson says:

      Don’t worry too much, Yellowcat, that are plenty of people doing FAR worse than you are. As of 10 years ago (when I gave up on her), my sister had had 6 fiancees, 2 attempted weddings (left at the altar), 1 divorce, and 1 annulment. (Yeah, I know the numbers don’t add up – 2 fiancees just vanished!) Mind you, she told my wife, at our wedding, that we wouldn’t last a year. 2012 will be our 20th. I don’t know how the wife has put up with me – but if she’s done it for 18 going on 19, I gotta be doing SOMETHING right! 🙂

      • Rea says:

        OMG John, do you have a blog? You could write a million stories about the six financees. Is your sister a reality TV star by chance?

        • John Erickson says:

          Sorry, Rea, I haven’t worked up the courage to do my own blog. And considering the .. u .. “characters” that most of the were, I’d rather not inflict that on the general public (except maybe as a horrific warning). I only wish she DID have a reality show – she could pay my folks back for the 2 (possibly 3) bankruptcies they bailed her out of. Trust me – her life’s a train wreck (mostly self-inflicted) that makes Lindsay Lohan’s look like the epitome of stability!

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Rings For The Next 20 Years | Working Tech Mom

  3. Congratulations! What a sweet post! Sounds like you had a very nice day indeed. 🙂

  4. John Erickson says:

    Congratulations on your 20th. May you look back on this from another 20 in the future and remember it fondly. My 20th comes up next year – as does my 50th birthday. It’s going to be an …. Interesting… year. 🙂
    Zahara- Long-distance relationships are tough. I wooed my wife long-distance from Chicago to Dallas. There’s an AT&T building in Chicago, 2 floors of which I paid for with phone bills! Keep the faith – it may take what seems to be an immense amount of work now, but you’ll reap manyfold what you sow. And be grateful you have modern Emails and Internet to trade messages and photos. A telephone is a tenuous connection for a relationship!

    • Thanks John. You wil have an interesting year for sure! My husband and I were apart for 6 months and I hear you on the AT&T floors you own. For us, Delta Airlines also got to buy an extra plane with our funding. 🙂

  5. huffygirl says:

    Congratulations on 20 years – a milestone that a lot of folks these days never reach.

    So what are you going to do with your old ring, the one that’s not broken? My husband and I have debated at times about getting new rings, but what always stops is “well what do we do with the old ones?”

    • Hi huffygirl. I agree a lot of folks don’t make the 20 year mark. It is not easy….day by day, we have the ups and downs of two normal people with a lot of opinions!

      I hear you about the old rings…we haven’t decided yet, but we did talk about it. Will let you know if we decide. My husband is joking that we go see those guys on t.v. that buy gold! You buy new shirts even though you have old ones, just think of it like that!

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Great for you two! My wife and I celebrate #20 next week! I’m with a previous commenter, I would love to see a pic of you two with the rings. Have a great day Gord!

    • Hi Mark. Congrats on your 20. I think they should give out some kind of certificate for making it! We’ll have to see about the ring photo. We are supposed to pick them up on Friday.

  7. Congrats on the rings, the easy fun for the day, and for 20 years! That’s a blessign and a rarity and I am sooooo happy to see how good your attitude is after that bad news. None of that matters if you can still sit and laugh and joke with your husband 🙂

  8. congrats on the new rings!!!
    and i m seeling that Friends has influenced so many people in its own way…good to see that

  9. Congratulations on 20 years! My parents recently celebrated 57 years of marriage, so you too have a whole lot of years together ahead of you – I wish you happiness and blessings always.
    Sunshine xx

  10. Congratulations!
    You should post a pic of you both wearing them.
    So much room for “new” at the moment in your life.
    Glad to also see that you still working on this blog.
    xx

    • Hi bokkie. Thanks for the visit. Will have to see about the picture. I am just now catching up on the blogging and the comments. It’s been a busy week in such a different way than usual. Keeping my positive vibes going though.

  11. Zahara says:

    Congratulations, what a fun thing to do.
    My fiance and I have been struggling seriously with our long-distance relationship lately, and this week I took off my ring for a few days for the first time in 18 months. Tonight I put it back on.

Leave a Reply

