Little One is a Songbird

My kids have high school exams this week.  Little One takes a vocal class and has a written exam and a solo exam where he has to sing 3 songs in front of his teacher as part of his final grade.

He sings all the time to his ipod in front of the family, but wouldn’t sing his “test songs” for us.  I really wanted to hear the songs without the background of the music on an ipod.  Just him, singing with his passion and his voice.

He declined many times and went as far as saying he wouldn’t do it no matter what.  Then we had an hour in the house alone, no chores to do, and nowhere to be.  I asked him nicely.  He said no.  I told him I’d make him do it or not drive him to school for the exam.  He said no.

I came up with a deal.  I’d let him sit on the coffee table with his back to me, I’d rub his back and not look at him.  He went for it.

So Little One sang me a song.  Just his voice, just his passion.

I waited until he was done.  And then he paused.  Slowly, shyly, he turned his head and looked at me.  I immediately gave him a high-five, told him how much I enjoyed the song, and gave him a big hug.

He’s not aspiring to sing as a career, and maybe he’s not a great singer…just a good high school singer who enjoys music.  But it was a few minutes of pure pleasure for me.

His voice is changing right now.  His goal was to get through vocal class this semester without it changing so much that he couldn’t sing.  He got his wish.

And I got mine.

image courtesy of http://www.worrydream.com

(here’s the song)

HOMEWARD BOUND

Words and Music by Marta Keen

In the quiet misty morning
When the moon has gone to bed,
When the sparrows stop their singing
And the sky is clear and red,

When the summer’s ceased its gleaning
When the corn is past its prime,
When adventure’s lost its meaning –
I’ll be homeward bound in time

Bind me not to the pasture
Chain me not to the plow
Set me free to find my calling
And I’ll return to you somehow

If you find it’s me you’re missing
If you’re hoping I’ll return,
To your thoughts I’ll soon be listing,
In the road I’ll stop and turn

Then the wind will set me racing
As my journey nears its end
And the path I’ll be retracing
When I’m homeward bound again

Bind me not to the pasture
Chain me not to the plow
Set me free to find my calling
And I’ll return to you somehow

Bind me not to the pasture
Chain me not to the plow
Set me free to find my calling
And I’ll return to you somehow

(Ah)

Bind me not to the pasture
Chain me not to the plow
Set me free to find my calling
And I’ll return to you somehow

(softly)
Bind me not to the pasture
Chain me not to the plow
Set me free to find my calling
And I’ll return,
And I’ll return,
And I’ll return . . .to you somehow

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Little One is a Songbird

  1. Thanks for such a sweet post! Im sure your you had much satisfaction 🙂 I miss home! sigh…

  2. Awww, I call my daughter, Little One. She can sing like an angel. I, on the other hand, have no musical ability whatsoever. Can’t even play the stereo. 🙂

  3. whatsnormality says:

    That’s sweet! I wont lie, I’ve been caught belting out a tune so many times that singing in front of my family (or anyone else, for that matter) doesn’t even bother me. Now, due to the fact that my singing is the kind that should be limited to the shower, other people might mind it, but hey, my ipod is my baby, along with the songs on it, so I’ll sing 🙂

    • Hi normality….good to hear that you are belting out tunes. It really is a mood lifter and I know we all think we sound a bit better than the truth. But having the music on loudly helps to cover it up. Keep singing girl!

  4. Perfect mommy moment! Im glad you got to hear it 🙂

  5. That’s stunning!
    My little girl wont sing in front of us at home either, however she will sing away to herself in the car. I dont think she thinks I am listening, and i dont comment. That time driving to our day and back is special.
    xx

    • Hi bokkie. I can see you planning the long way around when going out to run errands in the car just so there is more time to hear her sing.

      That same trick works when you drive teenagers in the car with their friends. They talk about a lot of things that you get to listen in on as long as you don’t comment to bring attention to the fact you can hear them.

  6. Zahara says:

    Good one, Mom! Lucky you, sweet story. My big “little one” also loves to have his back rubbed or scratched. Who doesn’t. Nice strategy.

  7. This made me smile. The smallest things coming from a child can bring such joy into a day.

  8. Expressmom says:

    I would beg, plead & bribe him to let me videotape him. I think in 20 years he’ll be glad to have this memory. What a great joy!

    • Hi expressmom. I gave him your suggestion and he ran! I have lots of photos over the years, but I am really bad at the video thing. I think the last time I shot any was about 6 years ago. 😦

  9. John Erickson says:

    Sounds like he did great – and so did you. What a great memory for you. He’ll appreciate it too, someday, though he may be too much a teenager to admit it now. (I know at that age I certainly wouldn’t – I was too “adult” for “mushy” stuff. I know – “Sigh. GUYS!” 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

