Advice on Internet Use From a Teenager

Landing a job cross-coutnry

image courtesy of http://blastmedia.com/blog

Big One: Mom, are you blogging?

Me: Yes, why, do you need something?

Big One: No.

…pause…

Big One: Mom, you should be careful not to spend too much time online.  Since you aren’t working now and you love blogging, you could spend a lot of time with your online friends.  I know you’ll have fun, but if you spend too much time with online relationships and lose contact with seeing people in person you won’t feel very good.

Me: Does that happen to you?

image courtesy of http://venturebeat.com

Big One: Sometimes.  But I know if I am playing SIMS and not just surfing social media, I feel better.  Because at least there is a point to the SIMS game.

Okay – she had me convinced.  But that SIMS line is something I’ll need to ponder.

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, friends, Time Alone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Advice on Internet Use From a Teenager

  1. Pingback: 100 Posts And A Lot Of Fun | Working Tech Mom

  2. yellowcat says:

    No, keep blogging and playing with your online friends!

  3. Catherine says:

    LOL, I love that Big One looks out for you. How soon before he gives you the birds and the bees talk?? haha :0)

  4. Awww, that is so sweet for Big One to have a talk with you. 🙂 Great kid you got there!

  5. Give your kids a hug for me Techy! Send them some blogger love! I cannot wait for our Mean Girls night FYI! 🙂 you have raised some very smart children!

  6. Sounds like reasonable advice! I need to take some of that myself :). K

  7. SO have you completely stopped outside contact with real people yet? hehe. If so, the solution is to play sims 🙂 Good girl though, lookin out for her momma.

  8. Val Erde says:

    This post cracked me up 😀
    I don’t have kids but I know the scenario ‘cos it kind of plays on loop in my head.
    Hi – I’m over from Margaret’s blog via her style awards.
    🙂

  9. Sounds like you are doing something right with the Big One 🙂

  10. Hippie Cahier says:

    So sweet. Big One is very wise indeed.

  11. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    That’s a wise kid you have there Gord 🙂

  12. mimie says:

    ;-P
    I just give a same advice to my mum…she spend a lot of time on facebook
    ha ha…
    ahh …. how i wish that the advice come from her instead, n it will help make me feel less old n bitter

  13. Smart kid. It’s important to get out. I know because I’ve been stuck in and I’m going wacky. Thank God for my blogging friends.

    • Hi Margaret. We finally thawed out this week-end. Got to +2C and I couldn’t believe how good it felt. I’m sure the deep freeze will hit us again this week. Hope you get outside for a run soon.

Leave a Reply

