Did You Hear I’m Stylish?

 

CatMan, the Rose Bandit – http://therosebandit.wordpress.com/ – nominated me for the coveted Stylish Blogger Award.  What a dear friend and a fabulous honour.  She wants to help people be happy.  She wants to give someone/something to laugh at and most of all she want to infuse people’s life with positivity and hope.  And I think she is hitting the mark quite well.  Check out her blog, pull up a chair, and have a laugh and a smile with her.

I appreciated this honour more than you would believe.  I know it is a bit silly, and a bit tongue in cheek, but I still enjoyed it.  Connections we make with people are important for so many reasons.

Hey RoseBandit – when do I find out if I won?  🙂

As she described in her post, the award comes with four basic tasks to be completed:

  1. Present seven things about yourself
  2. Name about a half-dozen bloggers you think deserve the award
  3. Contact those people
  4. Create a link back to the person who gave you the honor

Here are seven things you might not know about me:

1.  I played the bass drum in a competitive marching band.  We won a lot.  This means we practiced a lot and I had to carry that very heavy drum around a lot.  When we made a mistake, we had to run laps around the football field with our instruments.

2.  I am strong (for my size and age), but I often ask my family members to open things, reach things, and carry things for me saying it is ‘too hard’ for me.  I think it makes them feel good.

3.  I am a VERY over-protective mother – mostly on the inside.  It would also be on the outside if I didn’t have a husband that forced me to let go a little at a time.  I sat outside the day care, followed the school bus, snuck in a movie to sit in the back, and watched from outside the burger joint during her shift when my Big One did these things alone for the first time.

4.  I am a blue belt – halfway to my red belt in martial arts.  (white, yellow, orange, green, blue, red, brown, black) I find it very hard and never thought I would get my first coloured belt.  Each belt I get astonishes me.

5.  I am short (5’3″) and always wanted to be taller.  In executive meetings in a corporate business environment, I am almost always the shortest person in the room.  I am the only person I know who did not grow taller than her mother.

6.  I believe I can do more in any hour than is humanly possible.  This results in me being late for almost everything because I tried to fit too many things in before leaving.  I was an hour late for my own wedding and people thought I had backed out.

7.  I am a very loyal friend.  I almost never get mad at my friends.  Yesterday I did.  (hey, nobody is perfect!)

6 Bloggers I am bestowing the award to (in alphabetical order for fairness):

I’ve included a brief comment and a short message from their “About page”.

1.  http://dyingbraincells.wordpress.com/

This blog makes me laugh.  It’s easy to read, and funny to read, and also includes many references to things from decades ago that will make you say “me too!”.

AKA – Jumping in Mud Puddles.  The main thing I want to mention is that I write like I talk

2.  http://expressmom.wordpress.com/

Teaching, thinking, challenging herself and her kids.  Thought provoking blog.

AKA – Practicing Buddhism.  Homeschoolin’ mom of two! Merry, 14 & Bright, 13. Married, blissfully, 18 years, to Santa.

3.  http://notsospanish.wordpress.com/

Rea tells stories using photos and sees the world in a quirky way.  She is expecting her second child shortly.

My name is Rea and I am not so Spanish.  I’m Canadian.  My husband however is very Spanish.

4.  http://ollinmorales.wordpress.com/

Ollin writes about what it’s like to be a writer.  But his posts make you think about all kinds of life experiences, not just writing.

Ollin Morales is a writer and a blogger. {Courage 2 Create} chronicles the author’s journey as he writes his very first novel.

5.  http://redriverpak.wordpress.com/

This blog makes me laugh and was the first blog I commented on.  This brought me into a fabulous blogging community!

AKA – The Idiot Speaketh – I am a 40-Something Father of three, married to my lovely wife for nearly 20 years.

6.  http://simplysolo.wordpress.com/

This blog makes me think.  I’m not sure that was her intent, but I think if you read it you will also give thought to people and relationships and happiness.

I’m Catherine and I’m newly single. I’m starting fresh after a seven-year relationship, cancelled wedding and overall major life changes.

Full disclosure – I got a comment that I was nominated for this award from two different people (one about my life blog and the other for my blog on being fired) and I hadn’t responded yet to the first one.  I couldn’t pass up a nomination shining down on me, so I have chosen 6 different bloggers on my OuchFired blog posting to honour.  Check them out.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Did You Hear I’m Stylish?

  1. splinter cell blacklist says:

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful
    and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid other users like its aided me. Good job.

  2. Pingback: The Stylish Blogger Award « Sixthirtythree

  3. YOU ARE WELL DESERVING AND WELCOME!!! 🙂

  4. Aww, thank you so much for the award. BTW, I am 5’3 1/2 and love being short. I don’t get rained on first.

    • John Erickson says:

      Jumping- I think you might know my wife. In windy conditions (downtown Chicago, behind propeller-driven airplanes warming up their engines) she uses me as a wind block. 😀 (Yes, I always hold the umbrella, but that’s just my hopelessly-romantic chivalry taking hold.:) )

      • Oh John, you are beginning to really sound like a softie and a romantic….watch out or we will start telling people!

        • John Erickson says:

          Oh please! Don’t do that. I’ve only just finished convincing the neighborhood I’m some kind of retired, crazed mercenary! I don’t know why they think that, though – doesn’t EVERYONE polish their swords on their front porch? 😀

    • hahahahahahahaha….I am also 5’3 1/2…I didn’t want to say the 1/2 and make people think I was crazier than I really am…we really need a 5’3 1/2 club girlfriend, but I am not up to the task of organizing that right now!

  5. Hear that you stylish? We already know that you are stylish!!!!
    xx

  6. huffygirl says:

    Margaret’s been busy. Guess I better get to work on mine. Thanks for reminding me stylish lady!

  7. amkuska says:

    Congrats on your award! 🙂

  8. Ollin says:

    Thank you so much! I’m flattered.

  9. Aligaeta says:

    This is great! Nice to see you displaying it with honor.

  10. Thanks so much Gord! You might only be 5’3″ but I know that is all heart! Next corporate job you get, you could always hire my wife to work with you….you would tower over her and would never have to worry about being the shortest one in the room….. Just a thought! 🙂

    • Hi Idiot. I love that idea. Maybe I could just fly your wife in every now and then to stand beside me and be mysterious. She could take notes and stare at people and they would think they had to act nicely…all while I was looking tall.

  11. Catherine says:

    Wow, thank you so much for including me! It means a lot to me that you enjoy my blog :). And, I also am 5′ 3″. However, I’ve never quite come to terms with the reality of my height. See, I was 5′ 3″ in middle school. When we lined up for fire drills by height, I was the tallest girl. I was so proud of that. Well, I completely stopped growing from then on out. I never drank coffee, because I was certain it would stunt my growth (I was 21 before I realized I will never grow taller – only shrink with age – and allowed myself iced coffee every once in awhile!). So, I make up for it by wearing uncomfortable heels and constantly reminding myself to stand up straight. But, the thing is, I never really feel shorter than the average woman. I guess I took my height self esteem from middle school all the way to adulthood 🙂

    Thanks again – I love your blog!

    • Hi Catherine. I enjoy your blog and also wish I’d been there for the delicious cake! Welcome to the 5’3 club. I’m jealous that you got to feel tall for middle school. I am often in meetings with only men so I guess that is why I am aware of my “shortness” more often.

      I do remember being 17 and asking my mom when I would get my growth spurt and not believing her when she said I had finished growing years ago.

  12. Congrats! And hey, guess what? I didn’t grow taller than my mother. She’s 5’7″ and I’m stuck with you at 5’3″.

    Xo,
    Bridget

    • Hi Bridget. Will you start the club for us – “girls about 5’3″ who are shorter than their mothers”. Well, I’m sure you could come up with a better/shorter name for it than that?

  13. Wow, Techy…nominated twice for the Stylish Blogger Award. That’s quite stylish, indeed.

    I did not grow taller than my mother either. She claims she’s shrinking as she ages. I just might be able to pull it off.

    I feel the same way about being overprotective of my son on the inside. I force myself to step back in real life. I suspect this has to do with my being a bit of a control freak (just a bit 😉 ) and mostly believing the saying “if you want something done right, do it yourself.” Does that make me a bad person? 🙂 In fairness to my practical side, I have not applied for a school bus driver license.

    Thanks for the list of new blogs to check out. Hope all is well.

    • Hi Margaret. I am feeling quite stylish here in my pyjamas drinking hot coffee, thank you very much. 🙂

      How could there be others out there who did not grow taller than their mother and I never knew? I think as long as you don’t try to spoon feed the kids after age 8, everything else is forgivable. Stay away from those school buses though.

  14. John Erickson says:

    I can’t really help you with the points on the kids (not having any), but I’ll give you this:
    My wife is 5′ and a bit. She is shorter than her mother was. I have also worked for two women who also were about 5’2″ or 5’3″. One of my closest friends in college, with whom I tried to run a Star Trek convention in Chicago (which fell apart – the con, not the town! 🙂 ), had a wife that was 5′ even and could pick him up off the ground – he was 6’2″ and a solid 215 pounds.
    And to wrap up all those seemingly unrelated facts, I find shorter women to be stronger (physically and emotionally), more attractive (that’s just me), smarter, and far more resilient than they think they are. You’re an excellent example – kids, career, martial arts, blogs, and more. I hope you win – you deserve it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

