Travel To Dubai

I had a 3 week business trip to India a year ago.  We had a connecting flight in Dubai so I was fortunate enough to relax and spend two days in Dubai.  A photo journal of the travel from Toronto to Dubai.

Almost there, flying over Baghdad…


The Dubai airport…


Phone charging station.
Elevator – and baggage claim.  Familiar sites in any language.
About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in business trip, busy mom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Travel To Dubai

  1. How stinking cool Techy! I got stranded for 2 days…those days are very well worth it! Hope you had fun with it!

  2. The only photos I’ve seen of Dubai are the ads in the paper trying to get you to travel there. I’ve always thought it was a bizarre looking place, completely fake, and man-made. Almost like a theme park. I’d be interested in seeing ordinary street shots as well.

    • It did feel very man made and bizarre. It was interesting to experience because you could feel the investment of money everywhere. I had the feeling the whole time that they were expecting more people to fill things up. Everything we saw was gorgeous and opulent. We didn’t get to explore the areas where people lived and shopped like we did in India so I can’t comment on that.

  3. huffygirl says:

    I never travel to such exotic locations. I’d love to see some more pictures next post.

  4. John Erickson says:

    At the risk of sounding like a yokel, what was the dress code like? Were they okay with you, as a Western woman, not wearing a head scarf (or am I underestimating you and you DID wear a scarf)? I do know Dubai is a bit more loose with the Arabic/Islamic traditions. I’d love to see some ordinary street shots, just to see what the crowds and regular buildings look like. Thank you VERY much for posting these great shots!

    • I added some photos today based on your question. I don’t feel like we saw ‘regular buildings’. I don’t know how populated it is there…I should look that up…but it never felt like things were busy. Maybe that was just the comparison to India where we arrived the next day.

    • John Erickson says:

      Wow, Dubai to India – there’s a REAL contrast! I’ve worked with a number of Indian consultants, so I’ve seen some photos of towns like Mumbai and Bangalore. With both the monetary investment and the population, you went to two very disparate countries in one trip! Thank you for all the wonderful pictures here and elsewhere.

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Was you flight good? I had always heard the Emirates was a real good carrier. Looks like a nice airport! (Major Airline/Airport Geek here…)

    • The flight was amazing. We were in one of the A380 Airbus (double decker) in business class. The service and food were terrific, and we met a lot of people on the flight while standing around the onboard lounge.

      The airport in Dubai was gorgeous and empty. Everything in the airport looked brand new. They ran your luggage through scanners on the way out of the flight.

Leave a Reply

