I Am Blessed With Friends

Today I honour two friends.

Friend 1 is a friend from college.  She’s known me as a young, single girl and stayed with me through many years and all the changes.  We don’t live near each other and we only see each other 2-3 times a year.  I sent her a note to say I wasn’t working and needed to get together with a friend and spend some time enjoying life.  Within minutes she responded and we are planning a get-away in a few short weeks to a beautiful city that neither of us have been to where we will talk, and eat, and explore, and enjoy.

Friend 2 is a friend I met through work many years ago.  Tonight we had dinner and talked about family, work, plans, pain, joy, and life.  We discussed decisions we needed to make, crazy things we saw this week, and caught up on some people we both know.  We were serious, we were light, and we were engaged.

I am not a person to make friends with everyone I meet.  I have a friend like that and she sees the absolute best in everyone and wants to add new people to her list of friends as often as possible.  I sometimes affectionately call her “the friend of the world”.  It works for her, but that is not me.

I cherish my friends and hold them close in my heart.  I think of them often and they of me.  We get together for fun and sometimes for need.

We never ask of each other more than we can give.  There are times of silence and times of great interaction.  When a call-out is made for connection, it can be a gentle whisper.  The connection will be made.

Today I honour these two friends.  I am truly blessed.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, friends, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Am Blessed With Friends

  1. yellowcat says:

    I’m one of those people who make a few cherished friends and keep them. Glad you have great friends, too.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Great friends like that are a precious gift! 🙂

  3. True friends are like diamonds….rare, beautiful and to be treasured forever. Lovely post! K

  4. huffygirl says:

    I have two friends from college that I still see. Sometimes we go for months without seeing each other, but just like your friends, I know they’d be there if I needed them. Thank God for friends. Great post.

  5. marylisab says:

    Hi, you stopped by my blog today, and I checked out yours! I really like this post – in a time when everyone wants 500 “friends” on facebook, to have two close friends that that truly know your heart and life is a blessing and something to treasure.

  6. Zahara says:

    Friends are the best! They’re the ones who keep us sane! (I know, I know, nobody said you were sane:))

  7. Aligaeta says:

    I am amazed when looking into those “friend’s of the world” and become even more grateful for my two special friends. I don’t know how I would navigate this world without them. Aren’t we blessed!

  8. I have very similiar relationships in place with two girls that I met in Varsity. We just pick up where we left off.
    Special.
    xx

  9. Amen. There’s nothing like a true friend.

Leave a Reply

