Update Day

The heat is back on.  We are warm and cozy and trying to remember how fortunate we are to have heat and not take it for granted again.  This will be difficult.

We told Big One last night she is allowed to go on the amazing trip to China and Hong Kong.  We gave her a gift of a can of peanuts and a set of chopsticks wrapped in a Canadian flag.

  • The flag so she will remember to come home.
  • The peanuts and chopsticks for her to practice. I was told by my Asian friends this is how the children practice.  If you can control a peanut with the chopsticks, you can control them well enough to eat.

Trip is booked to St. Augustine.  Founded in 1565 by Spanish explorer and admiral Pedro Menéndez de Avilés, it is the oldest continuously occupied European-established city and port in the continental United States.

I am still feeling lucky for the opportunity to spend time searching for my next great career opportunity.

We are loving the new wedding rings.  Friends have done the appropriate oohing and aahing.  Even some of the men.

I took the teenager advice on Internet use.  I have been scheduling time each week to meet friends in person for lunch.  When you are not working, it is a fabulous opportunity to offer to pick friends up at their office, head out for lunch, and drop them back off at the door.  More time to chat in the car, and they can be back at the office in time for the next meeting.  For people working in a corporate environment with lots of meetings, this is a treat.

And one of the positive changes I have made in my life since I have more time on my hands is that I have been exercising every day.  Getting a break from work has many advantages if I just keep looking for them.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Update Day

  1. I am so glad you are letting her go. I am positive that she will remember it for an entire life time.
    Sounds like you are doing well! Did you ever post a picture of the rings?
    xx

  2. Keep those positive changes a comin’! Love it!

  3. Yay! So glad to hear she will be going to China. You’re a wonderful mom. I liked the idea of the peanuts and chopsticks. I still can’t use those darn things! St. Augustine..been there once. Have a great time!

  4. I agree. Your sense of humor and insight really rocks! …Teenagers get ready faster when it’s cold! Hilarious!

    Wonderful! She’s going to China!

  5. Expressmom says:

    Your daughter will never ever forget this trip!!!

    Congrats on the heating fix!

  6. Life IS good. And the thing w/the chopsticks & peanuts is how my Devoted Spouse learned to use them while he was in VietNam. Works. I just stick them in my hair to keep it up on my head. And if I whip my head around real fast I could take out any potential attacker. But I’d have a heckuva headache. lol

  7. kATE says:

    Your sense of humor simply rocks! Eating peanuts with chopsticks! Yes that would surely allow your daughter to make most of that can by making it last for a lonnnnng time. Getting break from work can spice up our lives for the innumerable activities which gets optioned before us . When I have my break all I do is enjoy staying at home! I enjoy reading,watching movies,paper crafts etc . These things really give a good positive boost into the routined working life. Exercise is such a healthy dose which I think everyone should take at least thrice a week!
    Find out if you should take up a samba class or just stick to the treadmill?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/fitness-personality/fitness-personality_instructions.asp

  8. Zahara says:

    Yes, what Margaret said!
    Good for you for exercising everyday! And making the best of your time off work. You’ll have a great new job in no time.

  9. huffygirl says:

    It DOES sound like life is good for you right now. I’m glad for you Techy.

  10. I’m so happy things are going well for you. And I ‘m thrilled for your daughter. She’s going to have a great time.

Leave a Reply

