Snow, Shut-Out, Study Group

 

One branch with snow sitting on top.

I know it’s still winter and I know it’s supposed to snow in winter in Toronto Canada.  I still get surprised though when it snows overnight and I wasn’t expecting it.  The trees are beautiful and the roads have been cleared so it’s not really bad news.

right in the glove!

Little One had another shut-out game today.  He’s starting to make it look easy, but I know it is not.  He stopped one shot, jumped on it, and then a scuffle broke out because the other team was in the crease trying to dig the puck out from under him.  Good old fashioned Sunday afternoon fun at the arena.

Big One has study group over tonight for a group project that is due in History class.  I have always encouraged study group at our house because you really get to see how they interact and you learn things about the kids they hang around when they are all in one room working together and being themselves.  Since they were very young, we’ve had study groups in my house.  All it costs is some snacks,  loss of any sane noise level for a while, and willingness to trip over a pile of shoes that get bigger every year. The benefits are well worth it.  I do have to admit this is one thing I will really miss when the kids are gone.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, friends, letting go, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Snow, Shut-Out, Study Group

  1. yellowcat says:

    I loved having kids in my house. It is sad when they move out and all you have is silence.

  2. 🙂 Happy and Proud Techy, love this post. I find it interesting observing the dynamics of study groups….who are the leaders? who are the dead weight? who are the loose screws that when tightened seem to make everything come together?? xoxo

  3. Pingback: 10 for Tuesday – (Mar 08) | Working Tech Mom

  4. What a great post. I love the visual of the shoes getting bigger every year. And I agree. Having the kids over to your house is the best. What else is a house for? I think the same way as you, as in, “I’ll miss this when it’s gone.” Really a better way of living than, “I should have appreciated this more.” Sounds like you’re in the moment, and enjoying life. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Zahara says:

    You are such a good mom, techy.
    Looks like the lack of appetite hasn’t hurt his goal-tending skills.

  6. Aligaeta says:

    Ah, Sarah’s home from college, the big shoes are in the doorway : ) a lovely image!

    Go, little one, with the shut out game! My brother played ice hockey in high school, it is my favorite sport to watch, especially when the kids are playing.

    Nice Post!

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I may have to get young one’s autograph now before he heads off to Juniors, College, and then the NHL……. 🙂

  8. Debbie says:

    You’re so right about having the kids come to your house! It’s amazing the things you can overhear, when you’re pretending not to listen! And yes, you’ll miss it, trust me!

  9. Jessica07 says:

    Haha! I love how you call the Little One and Big One.

  10. John Erickson says:

    If you ever need a history source, especially for times around wars (as so much of our history is based), I’ll be glad to share whatever knowledge I have. I’m strong on 20th century, fair on 19th, and only so-so earlier, but I have lots of sources. If you need me, just holler! 🙂

    • Thanks John. We might need your help before the night is out. I could probably rent you out to the high school if you just send along your number!

      • John Erickson says:

        Oh, don’t tempt me! I toyed (VERY briefly) with being a teacher, but figured I couldn’t handle the kids’ attitudes. Then, in the mid-90s, when I was doing WW2 re-enacting, two of us were asked to present our gear to a Boy Scout troop staying at the same Army base. I was playing the role of mannequin, when a 12-year-old started asking VERY technical aircraft questions – questions my squad leader couldn’t handle! I spent a half hour debating the merits of various WW2 aircraft with a 12-year old copy of myself! The scout master had to throw us out, as we were cutting into HIS time with the kids! I spent the rest of the day trying to figure out how to sneak a Boy Scout off an Army base without his troop leader, his parents, or the Army finding out! 😀 Since then, the teaching bug keeps rearing its’ head. Fortunately, Internet debate boards help keep it in check – for now……

Leave a Reply

