A Lady And Her Cigar

Yesterday I saw a lady on the beach, playing cards and smoking a cigar.  And then last night – about 7 hours later – I saw the same lady sitting inside, playing cards and smoking a cigar.

Many things went through my mind.  Why is she smoking that cigar?  Is it the same one she had when I saw her earlier?  I don’t smoke cigars but I think they last a long time.  This was a big, fat cigar, not the skinny cigarillos (if that is what they are called).

She seemed to be about 100 years old.  I kid you not, she was old and looked like she had lived a tough, but happy life.  She was with a man, also smoking a cigar and looking about 100.  I never saw them speak to each other.  Maybe it’s hard when the cigar is in the mouth the whole time to get any words out.  She never touched the cigar in all the time I was looking.  And I looked a long time.

The lady I saw didn't look this good!

I wish I could post a photo of her.  I couldn’t figure out a way to sneak a photo, and I didn’t know the words to use for “hey, my blog friends would love to see you and that cigar” so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

If you ever see her, you’ll know.  Just look for the 100-year-old woman, bleached blond medium length hair, cigar in mouth, with a deck of cards.  Tell her I said hello.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Lady And Her Cigar

  1. I just love the enthusiasm and wonder you have for people Techy! Isn’t the population interesting??

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I’ll keep her in mind when my bike and I approach your area…. 🙂

  3. Cute post and photo! She’s probably been smoking the cigar for many, many years. I think back in the 40s women who smoke cigars was a statement, so she kept smoking them.

  4. Am positive that if you took one with your cellphone, she would never have noticed. Must be honest- at that age I am sure you are all spoken out. Haha.
    Xx

  5. huffygirl says:

    I personally can’t understand why anyone, man or woman, would want to smoke cigars. It seems like women who do it are making some kind of statement, that they’re just as tough, good, hearty, whatever, as men. I wonder if this elderly woman was making a statement, or just grew up as a tomboy and smoked cigars?

  6. I despise cigars regardless of who is smoking them. The smell of them makes me ill…and violent, which is not the same as violently ill. 😉

  7. John Erickson says:

    Ick. Sorry, no insult intended to anyone, just – ick!

Leave a Reply

