How’s My Basement?

My husband is starting on creating a finished basement.  When your husband is doing projects around the house, there is a fine line between being supportive and appreciative of the great work, and pushing him to complete the project.

I’ll start by saying I know I am fortunate that he is handy, does terrific work, and completes the projects he starts.

Then I’ll mention that everything takes at least twice as long as he estimates and there are a lot more rooms that look like they are under construction than the area being worked on.

So I go back and forth between being appreciative and thankful for the progress and being irritated at the length of time things take.  If I was paying someone to come in and do this work, it may not be done quicker and I know it would not be done better, but I could complain about the worker openly and even get my husband in on pushing him to do his work.  Actually, that is probably not true either.  My husband would feel for the worker and may try to convince me why it was taking so long.

So…I am appreciating the work that is being done and trying to ignore the fact that I have a cabinet and sink sitting in my foyer, and drywall leaning against the wall in the hallway.  The shower is now tiled and tomorrow I will do the grout on it while my husband tapes, plasters, and sands some walls.  (remember, I do all the grouting….the part no one mentions)

I’ll try to ignore the deadline agreed to and circled on my fridge calendar that says the whole bathroom (first room of the basement reno) will be done on March 31.

May peace reign in my home as we move through this project.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How’s My Basement?

  1. Pingback: Sunday letters – Jan 20, 2013 | Working Tech Mom

  2. Pingback: Please Just Do Your Job! | Working Tech Mom

  3. yellowcat says:

    The shower looks beautiful!

    I have home projects I’ve been working on for years, so cut your husband some slack. 🙂

    • Oh, I have to disclose … that is not my shower … will post one when it actually looks done. 🙂

      Projects you are working on for years….what are they? Maybe he’ll come over to help! Sometimes he does that in order to avoid his own projects.

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Be thankful…If I was putting in that basement….it would NEVER get done…and even if by a miracle I did finish….nothing would work correctly…… Give the hubby time….he’ll finish it… 🙂

  5. At least your husband finishes the projects. Ours get started and then something else gets in the way – usually someone else wants his help and my project takes back seat. Sigh. This year the big project is to re-design the garden – It’s already late March and he’s actually looked at lumber at Home Depot to do the raised beds…but so far the tons of field stone that now encircle the existing garden are still there. It should be interesting to see if this project gets done – it may end up on my older blog for kicks (http://ohcraponacrutch.blogspot.com) Look for the fun to come. Happy grouting! 😉

  6. Sandi Ormsby says:

    It looks fantastic! I know what you mean about things taking awhile. We can’t afford to have someone come in, and my husband has done very well with looking up on the internet, and Home Depot/Ace Hardware and the tile/paint/shelving projects have turned at great.

    However, I do remember telling my husband, at 9 months pregnant with my daughter, I expected him to have the very small entry tile finished before I went into labor. He did.

    Now he borrowed our BIL’s router and has found some cabinets and removed these awful staircase metal railings and installed a wall with cabinets and ran some electrical. They are cheap pre-fabricated cabs, but oh so much better than what was prior! Also, he built a “workstation” for our laptop. Yeah! So, now we actually have a place to put some dishes/pans. Our kitchen is very small.

    But, it takes FOREVER and I can’t complain. I’m so happy he’s handy. But, I so know what you mean! 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • It sounds like you are living in my house! Happy to hear you got some of those needed projects and storage completed. We seem to always have a project on the go…maybe I need to think about a ‘project free respite’ for him.

  7. John Erickson says:

    Hey, don’t discount your work. Tile grouting is a pain! Well done!
    I’m kinda torn on this one. As somebody who has had some projects take WAY too long, I know that the best laid plans of mice and men (ESPECIALLY men) often go awry. On the other hand, I want to side with you and say “Finish one thing, THEN go on to the next!” So I’ll sit this one out, though I’ll offer my limited expertise to hubby if he runs into something that plagues him. Just have him Email me, and I’ll do my best to help via long distance.
    Good Luck!

  8. huffygirl says:

    The shower looks great – I see you’re handy as well as techy!

    • Hmmmm…. that isn’t my shower but the tiles are similar. I am waiting for all the building materials to be out of the way to get any photos. Today we have walls primed and the floor is being started. I have hope.

Leave a Reply

