Not In My Net

Skate around the net after his team scored!

Hockey semi-finals for the local house league team yesterday.  My son is the goalie and had a shut out game.  What an exciting day for him, the team, and us.  See the photo I got of him tending the net with his eyes shut. He thinks it makes him look goofy, but I think it is the ultimate concentration moment.

This morning, we let him sleep in.  No chores, and as soon as he woke up we yelled upstairs “hey, is that the famous hockey goalie?”  We rubbed his head, chanted “shut out”, and gave him a vote of confidence for a win today that would make his team the gold medal champions.

He was feeling pretty proud.

Then he asked who was making his breakfast.  I told him both his dad and I were busy doing other things (since we had been up for several hours before him) and he needed to make his own breakfast.  He tried the old – hey, it’s my hockey championship today, I need a good meal and I have to save my energy – trick.  It didn’t work.

So much for your moment of fame.

Don’t let any goals in your net today Little One and maybe we’ll make your dinner.  🙂

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, hockey, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not In My Net

  1. Congrats to the goalie! Glad you made him his favorite dinner or I’d have to send you to the penalty box to feel shame. 😉 (Sorry, couldn’t resist. Slapshot is one of my favorites.)

    • Hi Margaret! I am a tough mom, but not heartless. Sitting in the penalty box (alone, quiet) might not seem like such a bad punishment for me though. Can I take a book with me?

  2. Zahara says:

    That’s a crack up. This kid “who will not eat” is not going to grow up with any food issues, will not grow fat as an adult because food was used as a reward when he was a kid.

    On the other hand, send him my way, we’ve got pancakes and bacon happening.

  3. John Erickson says:

    Wow – you cut his sympathy try off at the knees! Isn’t that called slashing? 😀
    Seriously, good job. Too many parents let that kind of stuff go to the kids’ heads. And if he keeps all the shots out today, make him his favourite. Don’t want to be TOO rough on him! 😉

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Better leave room on your mantle a few years down the road for a Vezina Trophy! Way to go!!! How many shutouts is that now for this season?? 🙂

    • Hi Idiot. We looked up the Vezina trophy to learn all about it so thanks for the history lesson. I can only hope he is as calm and unassuming as Vezina was.

      Many shutouts this year. It has been unusual and exciting with another one today. We keep him humble by reminding him how strong his defense players were. 🙂

Leave a Reply

