Chocolate Soup

It’s fun to stroll through a drugstore when on vacation and just look at the local things to buy.  I happened upon a bin of chocolate bars / candy bars that were on sale if you bought two.

I bought two and my friend and I planned to enjoy them at a moment between meals.  Luscious, delicious chocolate – not to be shared with kids, and just enjoyed in peace.

After walking around St. Augustine today, when she mentioned this might be the time to pull out the chocolate and enjoy as a pre-dinner treat I realized we had left the bag in the car.  This would not be an issue where we live – and the snow fell last night – but in beautiful, sunny, hot St. Augustine the bars are now soup.

Lesson learned.  No chocolate now, but with no kids in tow we can stop and buy more if we so desire.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life, Time Alone, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chocolate Soup

  1. yellowcat says:

    Oh that’s terrible! I wish I was current with your (everyone’s) blog. There is this wonderful Datil pepper mustard made in St Augustine–Datl Do It is the brand name. It’s so good, you want to eat it with a spoon.

  2. Delicious looking photo!!
    Once we bought beautiful belgium chocolates- shaped as rabbits, and footballs, and eggs…..huge, not even thinking about it- into the boot of the car they went, and remained for the afternoon. Once home and unpacking the car….we found bags of melted chocolate. No rabbits, balls, or eggs. Heart breaking. We were a little doff.
    Xx

    • Oh bokkie…I think I would have cried if that happened to me. Part of the pleasure of eating those shaped chocolates is biting off specific parts of the creation, not just the chocolate taste. I’ll send you some easter chocolate bunnies…watch for the cup-of-soup to arrive. 🙂

  3. I don’t see what the problem was. You have a tongue right? I would have slurped that melted chocolate right out of the wrapper. 😉

    • Ahh Margaret…you got the right idea. We were able to salvage some by putting them into the ice bucket and eating them after they hardened a bit. Not the same shape as they started, but just as tasty!

  4. John Erickson says:

    I only carried chocolate once during my re-enacting days. Grabbed a bar, threw it into the small bag I carried my rations in. Forgot about it for two weeks, until the weekend it was 102 degrees in the shade. Pitched that weekend’s rations in, without cleaning the bag out. Ever tried chocolate-dipped French bread? DON’T! 😀
    After that, I was VERY religious about cleaning that “bread bag” out EVERY Sunday night.

    • marylisa says:

      mmmm…chocolate-dipped French bread sounds good!

      • Yes, John…I agree with marylisa, don’t they call the chocolate covered bread fondue?

      • John Erickson says:

        Well, if it was just the chocolate and bread, it wouldn’t have been a problem. But we were out in a dusty, grassy field. There were, shall we say, lotsa little hitch-hikers in that chocolate. And I was NOT up to identifying them all! 😉
        Let’s just say, we ROUGHED it when we re-enacted. Camping to the extreme, with blank-firing rifles. One weekend’s accommodation was a one-wall-logs, one-wall-earth, one-wall-branches, one-wall-canvas “bunker”. And it was low 30s that weekend, and rainy. And that was one of the nicer weather weekends! 😀

Leave a Reply

