You Need One More Tattoo

I have been walking around touristing all day and am intrigued by the tattoos I have seen.  Not the design or the style, but the volume.  I am not talking about the trend for teenagers to get tattoos, but the older people who have body art – and lots of it.

I have no opinion if these people should or should not have a tattoo since they are not in my family and I will not see these people again.  I am curious about the thought process for someone who has multiple tattoos and on multiple locations of their body.

So, you have 19 tattoos on your back and you get up one morning thinking “if I just had one more tattoo…” and head off to get number 20.

Or you have tattoos on your upper back, shoulder, neck, and lower back just above the waist line, and think “if I just had one on my ankle…”

I have been surprised and interested to see the number of tattoos on these women today.  Given that most of the ones I’ve seen who are very well inked seem to be about 10 years older than I am, I’d better get started if that is the new goal.

I’ll leave you with a different view of St. Augustine Florida – the spanish moss growing on trees.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You Need One More Tattoo

  1. You can doodle on paper you shouldn’t on skin…and if your going to get one make it meaningful and tastefully. Nothing is worse than seeing a dainty little girl then she turns around with this gaudy tattoo on her back…but again…there must be a reason to her? AH I have mixed feelings….

  2. I have one that I absolutely love…..and then one that I absolutely hate. And I am not rushing outfor more! Oh yes, and my eyeliner! Xx

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    My two oldest kids have been bit by the tatoo bug…. I personally have never seen the attraction in it….. but…to each their own I guess. St.Augustine looks great! 🙂

  4. huffygirl says:

    I’m amazed at the number of tattoos I see on my patients – many have multiple, which are large, colorful and detailed. I’m not sure when or how tatoos became so popular among the general public. It may in part be due to their prominence among rappers and basketball players.

    • I was surprised this trip. I knew they had become very popular with the under 25 crowd, but most of the people I saw were in the over 50 crowd and they had huge spans of their body covered.

  5. John Erickson says:

    My view has always been, you need a good canvas on which to put any work of art. Me? I would NEVER be caught in public without at least a T-shirt. Kinda limits the canvas area. And I have a LOT of scars on my hands and arms. All in all, I’ll keep my art on the walls, thanks all the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

