Fly High You Kite!

I was walking on the famous Daytona Beach and spotted this boy with a kite.  He was having a blast – lifting it up in the air, running as fast as he could, and smiling at his kite as it flew ever higher.  He would run – run – run and the kite would fly high and then of course it would crash down at some point due to the gradual slow-down of the runner and a breeze pushing on the kite the wrong way.

kite flying on Daytona Beach

He was not discouraged and his technique was a thing to enjoy.  He would look at the kite, then look in front of him to make sure no one was in the way, and then run and jerk that kite to lift it in the air.  No finesse, no rolling up the string to start again, and no thought of lifting it gently with his hand to help it get started.  Pure adrenaline and belief that if he just ran hard enough and jerked on that string, the kite would reward him and fly high.

And it worked.  Time after time that kite lifted in the wind and provided pure pleasure to this young boy.  And to me.

His brother did not have the same luck so I didn’t take his picture.  Hey, that’s life.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fly High You Kite!

  1. That’s inspiring!
    Sometimes it’s just about shear determination.
    Xx

  2. I’m with Sandi. I always get excited about the idea of flying a kite and then I’m like, “okay, now what?”

  3. Stephania says:

    The picture brings back memories of me doing the same with my parents!
    Do you have Twitter so I can stay updated on your posts?

  4. Kate says:

    I love beaches! This one is awesome specially for the fact that it’s clean and less crowded.
    Holiday Personality
    What’s the ideal holiday for your personality?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/holiday-personality/holiday-personality_instructions.asp

  5. John Erickson says:

    Substitute a rockier beach, and that could’ve been me – 40 years and a LOTTA pounds ago! Maybe I need to take that up again – not that I can run like that, but maybe a good wind and an open field could make up for it! 😀

  6. Sandi Ormsby says:

    Wow, that’s an open beach! Our beaches, are so crowded!
    FUN! My son doesn’t have patience for kites. (I don’t either.)

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • I’m sure these beaches are more crowded in the summer and Spring Break weeks from college. This time of year, the people in Florida don’t think it’s that warm even though for people from Canada, it was perfect!

Leave a Reply

