Busted Up and Bleeding

image courtesy of http://www.chron.com

This is the actual voice message I got yesterday from my Little One.

Hi Mom…it’s Little One…Mom, I’m okay.

I got hurt and I’m bleeding, and the paramedic put gauze on it and said I should go to the hospital for stitches.  If I get a bad headache or pass out, I might have a concussion.  My skateboard hit me in the face when I was doing a trick, and I have a cut under my eyebrow and on my nose, and it’s bleeding a lot.  I just wanted you to know I’m okay Mom.  And, oh yeah, I had on my helmet.  Love you.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, letting go and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Busted Up and Bleeding

  1. yellowcat says:

    At least he started out with “I’m okay”.

    Hope all is well.

  2. My heart would have been in the bottom of my feet…driving to find a way out. Hope he is okay?
    Xx

    • He is okay…thanks for the thoughts. I was very upset, but learning that these things will keep happening with a boy whose only fear is not from the actions, but whether I will kill him for it. 🙂

  3. 😦 I would have been slightly panic mode myself! Tell that little one to be careful! yikes techy!

  4. Im glad he was wearing a helmet. A practice I always encourage. Smart kid!

  5. Zahara says:

    Whoa, yeah, reading the message made my heart beat faster. So sorry. What a sweet boy to reassure you (while simultaneously freaking you out, no doubt). Hope he’s OK and mended soon.

  6. bjbillinger says:

    All I heard (if I was a mom and not a dad) is “Hey mom, you can freak out!”

    • Hi bjbillinger, nice to see you again. You got it bang on…and mom and dad reactions are so different. Dad didn’t want to waste time at the hospital waiting for treatment, and I wanted it stitched to reduce the scar.

  7. John Erickson says:

    I can sympathise with the Little One. When I was in grade school, I ran for the bus one morning, fell, and scraped up the palm of one hand. The lady in the house where the bus stopped took me in, quickly cleaned me up, put a small piece of gauze and some tape on it, and sent me out to the bus after making me promise to see the school nurse. I went into the nurse at school, and she proceeded to wrap my entire hand AND wrist! (I think she got paid by the foot of gauze used…) That afternoon, I got off the bus, and I remember, even as I walked up my drive, yelling “I’m OK, Mom! I’m OK! It’s nothing!”. Thankfully, my mom DID listen to me, and when she finally unwound all the gauze, wondering aloud why the nurse did all that.
    Sometimes, the kid IS okay, and is more worried about YOU than himself! 😀

  8. Oy!!!!!! I think I just sprouted another grey hair and it’s not even my kid.

Leave a Reply

