Help – I’m Driving and I’m Lost!

Big One got her driver’s license Friday and boy was she excited!  She and Little One had a class to attend that evening and I told her she could drive.

My husband was not sure this was a good idea.  He described all kinds of scenarios that could go wrong and didn’t want to hand over the keys.  I am typically the over-protective parent so this caught everyone off guard.

We got through the discussion and they were off.  Big One and Little One walked out, keys in hand, and smiles on faces.

Right behind them, my husband took off in the other car (unknown to them).  He took a different route but wanted to end up in the parking lot just after they got there to make sure all was well.  Things did not turn out as planned.

My husband got to the parking lot, and they were nowhere to be found.  He wasn’t sure what to think since he knew the route they took would get them to the destination before him.  He turned around to go looking for them and saw them coming down the street a few minutes away so he turned back to see them arrive.

They did not see him until they got out of the car.  They waved and said they had to rush so they wouldn’t be late for class so he just went home.  (you might be thinking they would ask why he was there, but maybe after we followed the bus going to grade school, and sat in the back of the movies when they first went alone, they are sort of used to us popping up in odd places)

Fast forward…3 days later…I am in the car with Big One and she asks me…

  • Big One: Did Little One tell you we got lost on the way to class?
  • Me: What?
  • Big One: We got lost, did he say anything?
  • Me: No, he didn’t say anything.  What happened?
  • Big One: At the corner by the gas station, we turned right where we should have turned left.
  • Me: How did you realize?
  • Big One: We drove a little bit and then I knew we should have passed the ramp to the highway and we had not.  So I turned around, and backtracked, and then we saw where we had missed the turn.  I just thought Little One would have ratted me out.
  • Me: Nope, he said nothing.  I’m proud of you for being so confident and figuring it out.  Everyone gets lost, so don’t worry about it.
  • Big One: Thanks Mom.


About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Help – I’m Driving and I’m Lost!

  1. What a beautiful moment of “kid code” as my family calls it. What a sign that your children share mutual respect and are maturing! Good job Techy! Oh, and great job discouraging and telling them not to jump off of any buildings and such… 😉

  2. I laughed when I got to this part: (you might be thinking they would ask why he was there, but maybe after we followed the bus going to grade school, and sat in the back of the movies when they first went alone, they are sort of used to us popping up in odd places)

  3. John Erickson says:

    Ya know, I think I’m proudest of your Big One. Boy, finding Dad at the destination….. that could’ve been PRIMO blackmail material! To just ignore it, and not to tell Mom about Dad hiding in the bushes (so to speak) – that is VERY adult. Unless, of course, she’s gathering material against a future need? (Hey, I’m an Chicagoan, we’re ALL about getting “dirt” on people! 😀 )

  4. Zahara says:

    All kids should be so lucky to have such attentive parents, and vice versa.

  5. huffygirl says:

    It’s so hard turning that first driver lose – sounds like yours has a good head on her shoulders and should be fine. By the second one – you’re tired of driving them everywhere and it’s much easier to let go!

    • I’ll let you know huffygirl if the second one is easier. I know that’s why they have the graduated license to allow the kids to get their practice before we let them loose, but it is still hard!

Leave a Reply

