Hate Gas Prices?


Remember about 20 years ago when we complained about gas prices?  We thought they were going up temporarily while there was unrest in the Middle East and they would come back down if we could just hold on long enough.  Hmmm…not such a good plan.

Now we even have “gas maps” to show us where the gas prices are lower and higher.  Does this help anyone?  For instance, if I know gas prices are lower in Winnipeg than where I live in Toronto, does this mean I can order gas from Winnipeg and have it delivered to me so I can get the cheaper prices?  Or that I should get in my car and drive thousands of miles to get to the cheaper gas and then drive home where my tank will be empty and then fill up again on the higher gas prices?  I think the only thing this map can tell me is that I should be more aggravated than I realized.Don’t worry, if you live in the U.S., you can be just as irritated.  Here’s your own map.

There are a lot of people thinking about this.  There’s even a Facebook group for people who hate gas prices.


12 Reasons higher gas prices may be helping and here’s a list of other products that cost more than gas per gallon.  Not sure if that will make you feel better or worse.  🙂

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in life, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hate Gas Prices?

  1. yellowcat says:

    Until recently I put $12 in my tank every night and eventually I would have a full tank. Now I have to put $16 in and hope I don’t run out of gas on the way home. Arg!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Yep, I remember griping when it went over a dollar for the first time…… Lord knows we will never see those days again…. 🙂

  3. John Erickson says:

    When I was growing up, there was a retired couple living next door. The wife would drive a full-size early 1970s car more than 25 miles to save a couple cents on a gallon of gas. The fact that she burned about 2-3 gallons EACH WAY was not a factor. Her answer? “I would’ve used that gas anyway.” :0
    If your American readers want a good heart attack, check the prices for a Chicago station on the south side, off I-94 (if memory serves). They had a decades-long tradition for some of the highest prices in the entire country!
    Then you have the old joke of the country boys who would put huge oversize tires on the rear of their cars and trucks. Why? ‘Cause you get better mileage going downhill! (rimshot) 😀

Leave a Reply

