Why Are You Late?


Big One went out this morning to plant trees.  This is a volunteer activity and she has done it several times.  She planted 13 trees last week and almost 100 seedlings today.

She is ‘out and about’ these days since she recently passed her driving test.  This causes me a lot of worry from the time she leaves home until she returns.  I’m told it gets easier over time.

When she finished the tree planting today, she forgot to call and tell me she was on her way home so I didn’t know they finished later than plan.  When she walked in, I was ready to ask where she was, why she didn’t call, why she was late, and if she knew that she had worried me.

I couldn’t get the words out though because she was holding a beautiful bouquet of flowers to give me for Mother’s Day.  Oh Big One, you are growing up.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why Are You Late?

  1. This brought a tear to my eye….lovely.

  2. John Erickson says:

    Don’t you just hate it, when somebody’s got you all wound up and ready to chew on ’em, and they go and do something really nice? I hate to admit it, but I was guilty a few times of ducking parental wrath at my tardiness with flowers for mom. Yes, I know, I’m shameless. 🙂

  3. huffygirl says:

    Sweet. Unless she stopped to get the flowers to have an excuse for being late – then it’s just …typical teen stuff.

  4. dragonfae says:

    Very sweet. 😀 (Hello by the way 😉 )

    I was one of those odd moms who didn’t go nuts over the kid driving, though the phone calls were a must. I was never sure why I didn’t worry a lot until I was talking to a neighbor friend one afternoon. She said she never worried much either … her way of looking at it was that we do the best we can and at some point you have to just trust that you’ve done a good enough job that your kids will make the right choices. And it sounds like you’ve done a great job with your kids!

  5. Awwwwww. That’s really nice. I bet it melted your heart.

Leave a Reply

