Suspension, Dandelions, and Motorcycles

Little One is good today.  The boys were suspended, they all had a chat today (about 2 minutes he said, what do you expect from 3 15-year-olds who had a fight?), and life goes on.  Thankfully.


The dandelions are winning in my yard.  If I have the energy, I’ll take a picture tomorrow as a tribute to them.  I used to have lawn competitions with my neighbour.  Then they outlawed weed killers in Toronto and I gave up.  His lawn is mysteriously green and dandelion free.  His parents live in the U.S. and have been visiting a lot lately.  I should warn the border patrol to check the trunk for ‘contraband’ weed killers.  🙂

Laundry is taking over my house.  Dirty piles, clean piles, laundry is everywhere.  This happens every year when the weather is changing and I have teenagers in the house.  They wear layers of clothes, and take them off in pieces as it gets warmer through the day, and the clothes multiply and take over my life.  I try to tell myself I will be sad one day when all the clothes are gone because it will mean the kids are gone.  Some days that works to keep me calm.  Other days, it doesn’t.

We have our martial arts demonstration on Sunday.  There will be 300 students and 1000 people in the audience.  Think of me as I am wielding my kick-ass boken and pray that it does not fly into the audience and slice off an unsuspecting head.

I got a job offer and start in about 10 days.  I am happy (for the great opportunity), sad (my ‘free’ time is coming to an end), nervous, excited, and ready.  I can’t express enough how the support of my blog friends helped me get through this job search time.  I’ll post more about the job after I start.

And tomorrow I have a dentist appointment.

Busy house, busy week, busy life.  Life is good.


P.S.  Biker husband made the trek to Port Dover today for Friday, the 13th rally.  If you are a biker, you’ll think that’s cool.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, life, martial arts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Suspension, Dandelions, and Motorcycles

  1. Pingback: Dandelions Lose and Hope Fulfilled | Working Tech Mom

  2. yellowcat says:

    Boys are so different. Girls carry grudges for years. Boys fight it out and get over it. I’m glad the school stepped in and stopped the bullying. Bullying boys get a little out of control.

    My daughter used to wear 3-4 tiny shirts every day. The mountains of laundry drove me up the wall. Now that she does her own laundry, she wears one shirt at a time. Funny how that happens.

    • I agree with your boys/girls comment. I asked for an update today and Little One looked at me like it had happened a year ago. He said simply “we didn’t talk about it anymore – we aren’t friends so there is nothing to say”.

  3. CONGRATS all around. I am glad the boys got a just sentence. What is your job going to be like?

    • The boys are all calm – or off taunting someone else perhaps.

      The new job is exciting, managing an IT team, and for a great company. I knew things would work out better in the end. It’s always the middle that is hardest.

  4. Good luck with your boken. Hope it goes well.

    • Thanks Margaret. It did go well. It was exciting and fun and it was over before I knew it. All I remember is in the end, I was stabbed and got to do the fun “fake dying” fall. 🙂

  5. Great post thanks for sharing. Your layout is excellent. I enjoy reading your articles all the time.

  6. dragonfae says:

    Congrats on the new job! I hope it works out to be exactly what you need. 🙂

    And good luck on the Martial Arts competition. I’m sure you’ll do fine. 😉

  7. John Erickson says:

    Alright, a new job! I knew you’d land one! I hope it works out well, without keeping you TOO busy. Heaven knows the home front keeps things from getting dull!
    I know it’s far easier for me to say than to have happen, but try to snatch a few minutes in each of the next 10 days to shift your mindset to “work” mode. That should help the re-adjustment a bit. And remember – THEY are getting the better end of the deal by far! 😉
    Oh – I’m not a biker, but I’m enough of a gearhead to say that rally sounds cool! Maybe one of these days I’ll get my 2-wheeler fixed. (Yeah, okay, it’s a 1970s Honda moped. It’s still a motorcycle if you don’t pedal it!) 😀

    • Thanks John. You got it about being busy! I am taking your advice on thinking about the new job a little at a time. And in between, enjoying lunches out and getting my nails done. Isn’t that what everyone does to prep for a new job?

      My dad had a Honda 50 and we called it a motorcycle. I still remember him taking off on it for work and honking “beep beep”.

  8. charlywalker says:

    This is funny with a capital “F”… Love this post!

Leave a Reply

