Don’t Make Me Laugh

don't make me laugh

OMG.  Last night I got hurt at martial arts class.  In one class, we can do over 100 kicks but my legs don’t hurt.  Or 100 push-ups, but my arms don’t hurt.  So what happened last night?

We were doing 360 degree spins with a backhand punch.  All you do is stand in one spot, jump in the air, lift your hand to the opposite ear, lead with your head and spin your body so it comes back down where you started, and launch a punch.

Sounds easy, doesn’t it?  That’s what I thought.  I dare you to try it.

I did 16 of them.  15 were fine.  #16, not so good.

I pulled a large stomach muscle.  The room kept spinning after I landed.  I decided to go for a drink and walked out of class.  I saw spots, felt nauseous, and lost my footing.  Fortunately I found the wall before I found the floor.  I heard I went completely white.

Holy moly.  Someone came and took care of me, got me into a prone position, put ice on my pulled muscle, and water on my forehead.  Then they sat me up, and I went white again and they put me back down.  I have never left class early before in all the years I’ve taken classes.

It was a rough night last night.  Ice, heat, ice, heat, and advil.  I thought I was doing okay today.  Just walking a little gingerly…until someone made me laugh.  Ouch.

I felt like this guy, but I sure hope I didn’t look like him.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, life, martial arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Don’t Make Me Laugh

  1. Just getting around to the backlog. Ouch. Sounds painful. But it’s a much more impressive-sounding injury than telling someone you’re going to PT for a rotator cuff issue as a result of lifting a 5-pound dumbbell. Sad but true.

  2. huffygirl says:

    Ouch. You’re so tough Techy. Feel better.

  3. Pingback: Dandelions Lose and Hope Fulfilled | Working Tech Mom

  4. yellowcat says:

    Ouch! I hope you’re feeling better!

  5. teehee! I think you look cuter than “that guy” even though you felt like him…I am sorry that you had a rough practice. 😦

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Channel your Dark Pscyhological Arts of the Ninja into healing your self….. Mind over matter…..if that fails, enslave the husband and children…as I am sure you have already done…. 🙂

  7. I am SO sorry you got injured this way — it sounds like you pulled something bad enough to make you feel incredibly sick. Much suckage, I hope your next two days (in particular) are manageable. Ice packs and ibuprofen have got me through many an injury, but I tend to have a high whine factor.

    You and my girlfriend Mur would get along. She’s a kung fu demon chick. Every time I hang with you martial arts people I feel more kick-ass than when I’m just hanging with my boxing team, ha. Y’all are stone crazy. (We’re just weird.)

    So glad you dropped by The Glowing Edge. I’m gonna tell Margaret thanks for connecting us — it’s so good to meet other fighting women!

  8. dragonfae says:

    Yow! I’m with John … I think I’m too chicken to even try one! Feel better! *hugs*

  9. John Erickson says:

    You did FIFTEEN without injury? Wow! I would’ve TRIED to do one, and ended up sounding like your description and looking WORSE than the guy in the photo! Jeez, it hurts just reading your description!
    And isn’t “hurts when you laugh” ALWAYS the last symptom to disappear? 😀
    Take care of yourself, okay? And if you ever need something stronger than Advil, well, we’ll see what we can do, eh? 😉

    • I like how you think. Yes, I did 15 without injury. I have to remember that part.

      I hear people in the US coming to Canada for drugs…so coming to you would be circular in a way!

  10. carlaat says:

    ooh – ouch! Heal quickly!

Leave a Reply

