Father, Dad, Friend, and Supporter


I have so many memories of my dad and these are just a few special ones that jump to mind.

  • the day I wrecked his new boat (when I was 15) that he let me drive because I didn’t know how to stop a boat…and he quietly told me it was okay
  • the day he taught me to drive a stick shift car by taking me to a road with a long hill and started me at the bottom, then had me start, stop, start, stop all the way up to learn how not to drift backwards
  • the day when I was 23 he told me he would rent a truck and come and get me and “my stuff” after my apartment burned down, and I told him there was no need for a truck since I no longer owned anything – and we laughed and laughed and laughed
  • the day I came home for lunch in 7th grade and told him about some kid who was irritating me and all the details and he listened and my mom said “can’t you just let it go” and my dad said “got get ’em girl”
  • the day in 5th grade when we were all playing SPUD outside and I came in complaining that they weren’t playing by the rules and what was the point of playing a game if you didn’t follow the rules and he agreed with me
  • the day I got married for the first time and he looked at me before the wedding and said “it’s not too late to change your mind” and he meant it…and I should have listened…and 2 years later when I realized it, he didn’t say “I told you so”
  • the day(s) my children were born and he held them and loved them and looked at me like I was the first person in the world to have a baby
  • the day when I was 19 and called him and I was in another state from him and made the sound my car was making and he listened and said gently, sounds like you need to take that in to have it checked
  • all the hugs, all the soft words, all the support, all the love
  • all the challenges, and encouragement to do well, and well placed questions when I am potentially off track
  • every time I talk to him on the phone, ย (including today) he ends the call saying “I love you”

Happy Father’s Day Dad. ย I am so lucky.

My dear, old Dad

 

 

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father, Dad, Friend, and Supporter

  1. Came across your blog while blog-hopping and love it ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep writing! I’ll be back to read more ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Don’t we all want to be parents like that? X

  3. huffygirl says:

    What wonderful memories – sounds like you have a great dad.

    Your story reminded me that my dad taught me to drive a stick shift too – I was 5’2″. he was 6’1″, sitting in the seat next to me his knees were near the dashboard because I had the seat up so close. Everytime I let the clutch out the car jerked, his knees hit the dashboard, and he never said a word. I remembered that the first time I rode with kids driving and tried to be as kind. Turns out it’s not easy! Thanks for reminding us all of our dad’s best moments.

  4. You are so blessed and I’m happy you have a wonderful Dad! I lost mine from complications of Alzheimer’s in 1992 and it’s hard. So treasure every moment, sweetie. And yes, Crone and Bear It is back….. heh heh

  5. John Erickson says:

    He sounds quite the man. And he’d have to be, wouldn’t he? Like father, like daughter. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Wow, my life feels boring in comparison, but your dad sounds like a gem.

Leave a Reply

