I Love (Hate?) myfitnesspal


Oh, myfitnesspal.  You are always there.  This is a good, bad, helpful, and addictive.

Big One got me to sign up for an account on http://www.myfitnesspal.com and it has been an interesting experience so far.

Here’s the welcome message on the website …

MyFitnessPal is a diet and fitness community built with one purpose in mind: providing you with the tools and support you need to achieve your weight loss goals.

It’s similar to many other sites and methods available so I am not saying this is a new or innovative program.  I joined to participate in something my daughter and some of her friends were doing, and now I am addicted.  The site has basic principles – you sign in each day and log your exercise and food for that day.  It calculates calories ingested and used up, congratulates you on good days, and motivates you with messages on how you will be doing in 5 weeks if you keep up the pace.

The addictive part for me is that you need to do it every day to get the full benefit of the logging and the messages.  If you save up and enter a few days at a time, you only get the messages for the current day.

It’s very eye-opening when you log everything you eat every day.  It is also helpful when there is a site or program like this that helps you determine the calories of each item.


I have never been a very conscious eater when it came to understanding the impact of each food / drink I was ingesting.  Of course, there are some things that are obviously high calories when you are eating them. (chocolate cake and fettucinni alfredo spring to mind)  There are also things that sneak up on you that I have become more aware of – that French Vanilla Coffee from Tim Horton’s (about 250 calories) is a far cry from a simple coffee with cream (about 40 calories) and if I plan to drink 1-2 every day, I better be making a conscious choice.

The best part of the site, though, that is really helping me is to become aware of the impact exercise is having.  The more I exercise, the more I can eat and still maintain or lose, and get into better shape.  I am making decisions at lunch to go for walks instead of long lunches, attend my martial arts classes on a regular basis, and jogging in place for 10 minutes while watching one of my favourite t.v. shows.  Each small decision helps with the outcome and those little messages from myfitnesspal actually put a smile on my face.


This is not an ad for their website.  As I said, I’m sure there are many programs that work in similar ways.  Think about what you are doing, make conscious choices, and get feedback on your progress.  In a life that is busy, these acts are not always easy to do.  Thanks myfitnesspal for helping me out.  And of course thanks to Big One for suggesting I try it.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Love (Hate?) myfitnesspal

  1. Pingback: 10 For Tuesday – Feb 07 2012 | Working Tech Mom

  2. Huffygirl says:

    Hey Techy, I may check this out. It sounds a little tedious, but if it gives me the push to lose that stubborn 10 pounds…

  3. Pingback: I Am The Controller – Ouch | Working Tech Mom

  4. Hey Tech! i use fitness pla and credit it to assisting me in lossing 65lbs this year so far. I hate recording and keeping track, but it helps in the battle. I do love the fitness feature and all the Canadian food content! Happy recording!

    • Wow tourist. That is great to hear! I didn’t know anyone else using it other than the teen-age girls who frequent my house – you know, the ones who need to lose 1.5 pounds. 🙂 Keep it up!!

  5. Mark says:

    It’s great your doing this with your daughter. Though I’m not sure I could handle my computer making commentary to me – I prefer the conversation to go the other way, usually well-decorated with … “spicy” …. language.
    +1

  6. Rea says:

    Sold! That’s just what I need. Since my only friends are on-line, of course my trainer and dietician should be too.

  7. JOnKEnna says:

    Hadn’t heard of this but will definitely give it a try. Thanks for the tip!

  8. Catherine says:

    Keeping a fitness regime can be tough – I’m going on MONTHS since a trip to the gym. So ashamed!! I just need to get on it (although I keep saying that). Maybe you’ll be my new inspiration 🙂

    • Hi Catherine. I’ll give you whatever I can, and you should know you just inspired me. I was going to pass on my food log for today since I knew I had a few extra snacks and very minimal exercise. Then I read your comment and kicked my own butt. Log done, penance paid. Tomorrow is another day.

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I am using a couple biking websites to track my daily rides… but thankfully they do not speak or send messages when I am slacking off….. Good luck Gord! You will do great 🙂

  10. John Erickson says:

    It’s great your doing this with your daughter. Though I’m not sure I could handle my computer making commentary to me – I prefer the conversation to go the other way, usually well-decorated with … “spicy” …. language. 😉

    • Thanks John. My computer and I have those conversations also. I used to have the “I want to throw you out the window” conversation with it also, but that one seems to have faded for the spicy language ones you referred to!

Leave a Reply

