My Sweet Red Belt

All my martial arts belts - up to red so far!

I achieved my red belt in martial arts.

It has been a long road from blue belt to red belt.  I know I can put it on with pride of ownership as I count the months and drops of sweat that brought me to this moment.  The jumps, the kicks, the breakfalls, the punches, the forms, the self-defence moves.

I can now harm or kill a person in 28 ways and fall off a ledge landing face down on the ground without breaking a bone.  Not that I ever expect needing to use these skills outside of a test in martial arts.  But geez…it feels so good to learn and challenge myself far beyond anything I imagined I could do as a mom of two who works in a corporate office and wasn’t all that active until I started classes.

I had my doubts this summer about making it to this point.  Now I walk past my belt that is hanging on the doorknob between classes and just look at it…and smile.  Hello red belt.  You are mine!

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, corporate jobs, martial arts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Sweet Red Belt

  1. Huffygirl says:

    Wow Techy, congratulations. I was a little afraid of you before, but now I’m very afraid 😉

  2. carlaat says:

    Congratulations! That’s a big accomplishment! 🙂

  3. I’m so excited for you, Techy. Congratulations. What a great way to end off the year!

  4. John Erickson says:

    Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner, my Email service just dropped this in my Inbox today! (ARGH!)
    Congratulations! 28 ways to kill somebody, eh? I bet your husband has been REALLY nice to you lately! 😉 😀

Leave a Reply

