Tribute to Air Travel

It’s so easy to write about all the things that are wrong with air travel and flying, but today I was reflecting on the positive things I’ve experienced.

Two days ago I woke up in Toronto and had lunch with my family.  I flew overnight, stopped in Germany and had breakfast.  I connected to my next flight and landed in India where I had a late dinner and went to bed.  It is amazing to me that all in one day I could have this experience, and be in cities across the world, and still be the same me.

Going back one generation – or at least two – this type of travel was not common for anyone other than those of affluence.  I feel fortunate things have changed.  I have had the experience to see family, and friends, and people I work with in many cities and coutnries.  I have also seen great views in many countries that I would never be able to see any other way.

When I was 14, my parents took the three kids on a vacation and we flew.  They took us to a city that wasn’t far away and we could have easily driven.  I remember the reason they gave at the time was they wanted us to experience flying and they never wanted us to be afraid to do it.  They also taught us that if you wanted to go somewhere (to see something) or be somewhere (to see someone), all you had to do was decide.

In life, parents try to impart many lessons on their kids.  I’m glad I learned this one.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, family, life, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tribute to Air Travel

  1. murty says:

    Kelley
    your remarks are apt and the y gen may not enjoy these things, for them every thing is available and they have affordable parents

  2. Huffygirl says:

    Seems like most of my airplane trips involve some kind of snafu, or at least some frustrating element having to do with goofy seat mates or airport security inefficiency. Glad your trip was so smooth.

  3. yellowcat says:

    It is pretty amazing that we can go so far in one day. Kudos to you for finding the good in air travel. I always figured as long as the plane didn’t crash, it was a good flight.

Leave a Reply

