10 for Tuesday – August 14, 2012

10 great things today…

  1. breakfast conversation at home that was lighthearted and fun
  2. random call with a friend on the way to work, reconnected after too many weeks
  3. had the opportunity to showcase all the progress my team has made this past year to senior executives
  4. able to negotiate a solution with two people who had opposing views in a way that ended with both of them thanking me
  5. tomato from my backyard garden tastes so sweet
  6. finger is healing after surgery, but I do have to wear a splint at night to try to remove the bend
  7. not allowed to do finger push-ups for 4 months 🙂
  8. Big One told me she loves to work (not just loves her job)
  9. Little One shared his knowledge of “meme”s (see below)
  10. Got a note from a good friend saying “thought of you when I read this post” – and when I read it, I smiled – http://lifehacker.com/5934707/the-disciplined-pursuit-of-less – about having the courage to say no to good things to have space in your life for great things (my summary, and something we discuss often – thanks!)

Definition of meme from wikipedia, but really you want to see an example so here is one with Willy Wonka.  I won’t use Bad Luck Brian (too crass) or MacKayla (not sure how I feel about that one even though I do find it funny).

Condescending Wonka

I was truly blessed today.


About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, corporate jobs, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 for Tuesday – August 14, 2012

  1. Definitely sounds like an outstanding day. Except …. try as I might, I just can’t remember having to do finger push-ups in gym class. 😉

    • Thanks John. Do you think my guy made these up just to torture us? We do finger push-ups, fist push-ups, make a triangle with your thumbs and pointer finger push-ups, hands out, hands in, hands backwards push-ups. All a bit crazy in my mind! I cry when we do crunches and pray when we do push-ups. So far, so good. I haven’t given up any except the finger push-ups. 🙂

      The ones where you are supposed to have your hands under your belt (instead of near my shoulders) just don’t happen yet for me though.

      • Yee-OUCH! That routine sounds brutal! I thought the Marine Corps hand-clap style were tough enough, but I think your instructor has a SERIOUS sadistic streak. Maybe you need to start bringing him a home-made smoothie as a treat? You know, heavy on the Mickey Finn? 😉

Leave a comment