How did I get here? – Dec 7, 2013

As I sat watching a High School play tonight, I thought ‘How did I get here?’…

Last night, Little One called me as he got off work and said he had a surprise for me.  When I asked what it was, he told me he got two tickets to the play on Saturday and one of his friends had the starring role.

My heart sunk as I said I didn’t think we could go because we had our family holiday dinner that night.  And then he sounded so sad.

I got up today and called my sister-in-law to talk about the conflict.  Fast forward 10 hours, and I found myself sitting at the play with Little One.  Through getting up early, moving our schedule up a few hours, arriving at the dinner early, and helping get things on the table, we were able to visit and eat and enjoy our family dinner.  And then they whisked us out of the house and wished us a good evening at the play.

My sister-in-law whispered in my ear – ‘when your son surprises you like that, the only thing for you to do is enjoy it’ – and then she gave me a big hug.

So I went to the play, enjoyed seeing his friend ham it up, and felt pretty special being with Little One.  At intermission, he hung around with me and introduced me to everyone we saw.  When it was over and we walked to the car, he put his arm around me and said ‘thanks for coming with me mom’.

How did I get here?  Indeed.

Belle-and-Beast-beauty-and-the-beast-10896374-500-457

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in family, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How did I get here? – Dec 7, 2013

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sweet! I will smile about this the rest of the day.

  2. What a great kid, and good advice from your sister in law!

Leave a Reply

