How did I get here? – June 22, 2014

yoga8

How did I get here?

I found myself laying flat on my back with tears in my eyes this week.

Last week-end started on a high note.  We had a martial arts demonstration for two hours where the whole academy gets to show some of our forms, kicks, punches, and self-defence.  After the demo, we have a ceremony for the new black belt graduates.

The demo went well.  The graduates gave touching speeches, and I got to spend time with Big One and Little One.  So far, so good.

When we got home, Big One asked me to do some Yoga with her.  I have not practiced yoga in quite a while, but since I train in martial arts every week I assumed I would be fine.  Not so.  After 30 minutes, I was a bit sore and tired so I left her to finish on her own.

I woke up the next morning unable to get out of bed.  Some muscles that have obviously been neglected were telling me in no uncertain terms that I had abused them.  7 days later, a few days off work, two massages, and some ice and heat, I am finally able to walk again.  On day 3, I swore that I would never get back to normal so I am taking this as a good sign.

I have talked to many people this week who shared their back pain stories with me. I sympathized with every one of them.

And yes, I learned my lesson.  Don’t jump into a new physical activity assuming the muscle groups will be the same.  And a bonus lesson – don’t assume I can keep up with Big One!

How did I get here?  Indeed.

 

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in busy mom, karate, life, martial arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How did I get here? – June 22, 2014

  1. I once took a month of yoga and then tried to jump back in where I left off, it did not end well. I hope you make a faster recovery than I have… good luck!

    • Thanks inversion! I am almost ‘back’ to 100%. It is shocking to me that my body could rebel so badly to a little bit of yoga! I will listen more diligently when I hear things like “you need to stretch and start slowly with new physical activity!”

      I hope you are back to normal activity too.

  2. Deborah Prato says:

    Ahh, I completely sympathize with your pain, suffered from back pain in various degrees since I was young. Yes, I guess the day comes when we all realize we can no longer keep up with our own “big ones” ha ha. Hope you are back to 100% soon.

Leave a Reply

