How did I get here?

How did I get here?
 
I recently earned my brown belt in martial arts.  The key word to me is ‘earned’ since my journey has been long and the test was hard.  I have been training for 7 years and the brown belt test was 70 minutes long.  As I leaned down, placed my hands on my knees, and was gulping for air after 40 minutes, my instructor yelled something that sounded like “there are no breaks allowed”.  I’m not sure those were his words, but I did stand up and prepare for the next command.
 
I must give context that achieving brown belt includes testing your stamina, flexibility, and balance.  Every kick, and backhand strike, and form involves spinning.  LOTS of spinning.  I have been trained to spin and maintain focus on the target (whipping my head around at the exact right moment), and landing my kick where it is intended.
 
So he was challenging me to do what I’ve been trained for.  And I responded in kind.
 
There was a moment before the test where the words of encouragement went something like this “You have trained and you know what to do.  Your head knows and your body knows.  Today is about demonstrating that in front of people.”  It made me realize it is not like a test in school where you may or may not have studied the right sections, and you may or may not have understood.  I have trained.  I did know it.  And for those 70 minutes, I sure did demonstrate it.  There were four black belts assessing me.  And other students, family, and friends watching.
 
As for those people watching…I didn’t see them.  I was so focused that all I saw was the target.  Just like I should have.
 
How did I get here?  Indeed.

About workingtechmom

busy, happy, loving life Drop by and leave a message.
This entry was posted in martial arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How did I get here?

  1. Deborah Prato says:

    Outstanding! Congratulations. Was in martial arts myself, so I appreciate the hard work and determination that went into this incredible achievement!

  2. Anonymous says:

    wow . impressed is not the word. well done working tech mom 🙂 .still follow your posts 🙂

  3. Varun says:

    cool Indeed!

Leave a comment